Two-Tone Toes

March 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

Spectator pumps, out enjoying the weather

They look a bit elegant against the concrete, I think.

Spring shoe time! Lightening up the footwear wardrobe doesn’t mean just sandals and these spectator pumps are just the ticket. As in art, a combination of textures creates interest. These adorable pumps from J. Crew exhibit just that: a lovely combination of metallic (!) linen, patent leather and wood. A shoe with a basic shape with less-than-basic details. I’m a sucker for wingtips, too. There’s just nothing better than a ladylike piece with menswear detailing, in my opinion. I’m pumped to wear them with my recently-unearthed spring clothing, and with their neutral palette, I’ll do just that.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2011

Circumstances: Oh Ebay, we meet again…and again you win. I have still been trolling the ‘bay for a certain pair of J. Crew mary janes for a while. In the midst of said search I found these perfectly posh ladylike pumps. I remembered them from last summer, too. One seller was selling them for an unrealistic price so I watched and waited. My patience was rewarded as I luckily found another seller asking much less. I had since realized I really loved this shoe so I sent a counter-offer…and they accepted. Done and done. In 3 days they arrived at my door. I wore them the next day.

Compliment Meter: 6. Several. Shoe Confidence: High.

Comfort: A little snug , but nothing a little breaking in won’t fix. Overall, 7 out of 10.

Worn with: White puff-sleeved blouse by Chloé, Club Monaco slim chinos, skinny gold belt.

Thoughts: “I love the idea of elegance and intricacy…however: the intricacy must appear as simplicity.” ~Carolina Herrera


Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Two-Tone Toes at PAIR DIEM.

meta

