Sparkle and Suede

March 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

Grey day, grey shoe

As the rest of the country still fights the cold and snow, the temperatures warm quickly come March 1 here in Texas. As spring begins it’s descent a few days of cold let allowed me to break out a late-winter purchase. I’m a dichotomy of taste. My shoes choices are either overtly feminine or blatant boy-like. This pair is obviously the former. These perfectly pretty grey suede pumps by Beverly Feldman have a feminine silhouette with the pointed toe and curved heel. A shoe in one of my favorite colors, favorite textures, topped with fabulous beading is hard to resist. I may not be able to wear them again until next fall, but they will be worth the wait, and I’ll be wearing them with dresses, tights, shorts and denim. A pair of off-season gems.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin. Date of Purchase: Winter 2011 Circumstances: A little lunchtime romp to DSW in the midst of a crazy stressful work week. I haven’t been out shopping, other than from my computer, in months. Work’s been a bear and when opportunities came knocking so shopping took a back seat. On a short break from the office I went with good friend LM to DSW, not looking for anything in particular. I found these on the clearance rack and carried them around the store for the next 15 minutes contemplating the purchase. There’s nothing I don’t love about a grey suede pump and being the end of the season they were on sale for a steal. I purchased and took them home still not completely sure I would keep them. Once I tried them on with a few items in my closet, I knew the were staying.

Compliment Meter: 3. A couple of nice comments from girlfriends.

Shoe Confidence: Medium High.

Comfort: Not bad, but they could benefit from gel inserts for the ball of the foot. After about 5 hours, my feet did ache. They need some breaking in. Overall, 6.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Grey Banana crewneck merino sweater, Club Monaco high-waisted trouser, stockings from Target. I was having a monochromatic moment.

Thoughts: “The most valuable item a woman should have is an accessory. With a quick switch of handbag or shoes, you can change your mood.” ~Donatella Versace

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sparkle and Suede at PAIR DIEM.

meta

