Boot Up

October 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

The Frye Company 'Shirley' Riding Boot

Fall rolls in and in terms of shoes, that means one thing: boot weather. Knowing I needed a new pair, I scouted these Shirley boots, by Frye, this summer. The Frye Company crafts some beautiful boots and though I had yet to own a pair, the brand comes highly recommended. Founded in 1863 by John A. Frye, a prominent English shoemaker, The Frye Company is the oldest continuously operated shoe company in the United States. The Frye customer is a loyal one; their boots are known to take a beating for years and many of their well-worn signature ‘Campus’ boots, introduced in 1960, have been passed from mother to daughter. I’ve begun my Frye collection with this perfectly simple black riding boot. (Yes, I will likely end up with a collection) Riding boots are fail-safe and my previous black pair were simply worn out after several years of wear. I’m currently preferring a taller just-below-the-knee, pull-on construction to a full side zip. These with their smooth leather small buckle details are on point. Classic, simple and well-made…easy to fall for.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2010

Circumstances: The best shopping requires planning. This planning includes having a list of closet staples or embellishments one can be on the lookout for; it also includes knowing the schedule of quality sales. One such sale is the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. As I explained when I first found these boots, the retailer puts incoming season wares on sale for a short time each summer. I braved the insane crowds to browse the shoe assortment, dodging chatty teens and their moms, tired fathers and downright frazzled (yet still very courteous) sales staff. It wouldn’t surprise me if they got half a year’s commission in this single week. I found these boots, having already seen them online, and unfortunately none were left in my size. Drat. Then, Nordstrom customer service came to the rescue; they located my size in another store and shipped them for free to my home. The only disappointment remaining: given that summer lingers into October here, that I wouldn’t be wearing them for another two and a half months.

Compliment Meter: 3. Solid compliments today, from gents and ladies Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Ah, a flat boot…the fall equivalent of the ballet flat. Very comfortable. Overall: 9 out of 10.

Worn with: White/grey striped shirt dress from Elizabeth and James, bronze belt from J. Crew.

Thoughts: “I’m always astonished by how much men misunderstand women. For one, men don’t understand how a woman can own 300 pairs of shoes. For a woman, it’s the most natural thing in the world.” ~Christian Louboutin


Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Boot Up at PAIR DIEM.

meta

