A Classic Sling

October 6, 2010 § 1 Comment

Slingbacks, a wardrobe staple

How many pairs of black heels does a girl need? Save your breath; don’t ask. We need as many pairs as we need. For me, well the answer is several. Different shapes, height, silhouettes, materials, in limitless combinations—each have their own place in the closet and a millimeter can make all the difference. In the past year I’ve migrated away from most of the black in my closet. Black will always be classic and the little black dress is simply irreplaceable but navy and grey have crept in as my favorite darks. In previous, less adventurous days, black shoes and accessories were the easy answer. Yes, it ‘goes’ with everything…but can also be too stark of a contrast and honestly, just plain boring. Playing with texture and colors, even in the slightest variation, adds dimension and interest. And let’s be honest, getting dressed should be interesting and fun. Hence, I haven’t been on the hunt for a particular black shoe, but like so many things in life and love, when you’re not looking is when it finds you. These lovelies found me. I have a weakness for slingbacks and their retro sophistication and this is one serious sling. The heel is high, the platform hidden, the toe a great balance of pointy and round. Just enough sass to make me want to wear a pencil skirt every day. Like I needed another reason.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2010

Circumstances: I received a generous DSW gift card from two dear friends for my birthday. I had already purchased one pair but still had a balance remaining. We are spoiled here in Dallas, our DSW’s receive an impressive shoe inventory: Gucci, Marc Jacobs, Prada, Celine, Ralph Lauren (I hear other cities are not as fortunate). Knowing I had money to burn I made a lunchtime shopping stop. As stated, I was looking for nothing in particular so naturally started with the clearance section. Lined with summer leftovers, the racks were unimpressive to say the least. Yet, I continued to peruse. I noticed a nice slingback, these from BCBG and like most shoes that even remotely interest me, I tried it on. Like many clothes with unexciting hanger appeal, you never know until you have them on. The shape of the toe, cut of the vamp and killer heel immediately convinced me: yes, I do need another pair of black heels. I retired a pair of round toe slingbacks not too long ago that I was rather attached to and these are the perfect update. They will look great with pencil pants, skirts and demure dresses; they’ve got enough sass on their own.

Compliment Meter: 3. A few well placed compliments. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: I find slingbacks quite comfortable since they allow more freedom of movement than a pump. These fit well, but because of the heel height I did have a good dose of heel fatigue by 4pm. Meetings come in handy as a rest for the feet. Overall: 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Dark wide leg denim form Kors by Michael Kors, white ruffle-neck blouse from J. Crew, oversized gold watch.

Thoughts: “A woman wearing the right stiletto is a true force to be reckoned with.” ~Nina Garcia


Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to A Classic Sling

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Classic Sling at PAIR DIEM.

meta

