Summer’s Last Straw

August 21, 2010 § 2 Comments

Straw, Leather and Gold chain flats

 It’s no secret I love a ballet flat. Classic, feminine and the best of comfort in a chic little shoe. Simple black is a wardrobe must, but patterned and detailed pairs add a touch of interest to an otherwise basic outfit. I couldn’t resist this pair from Elaine Turner in all their feminine WASP-yness, on summer sale of course. The natural straw upper is bordered by black croc-stamped leather and topped with a gold bamboo-molded clasp…very West Palm Beach. As the days of summer draw to a close for most of you (in Texas it will stay above 85 for over a month, however) I’ll be happily wearing these with crisp shorts, floaty skirts and even some skinny denim for the sub-zero office environment. As much as I dislike the 100+ temps and can’t wait for blazer and boot weather, I’ll be sad to see my summer footwear and long sunny days come to and end. 

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin. 

Date of Purchase: Summer 2010
 

Circumstances: It was my favorite kind of Friday. A half-day-at-work Friday. I spent my Friday afternoon running lazy errands, the kind that need to get done but nothing life-threatening. I was making a trip to the mall to return some merchandise and like countless times before I started to walk right past the accessories store Elaine Turner. The brightly colored décor, akin to Kate Spade, in white, kelly green, pink and yellow often caught my eye, but I never ventured in…until half-day Friday, that is. Just inside the petite boutique were the telltale signs of a summer sale: shoe boxes pulled from the back room used to display the marked-down goods. I didn’t even try to resist and wandered in. Adorably feminine and preppy flats and sandals covered the floor and the bright crisp colors instantly made me happy. Besides shoes, they carry a nice offering of design books, decor and apparel. I not only made a friends with Stephanie, one of the story employees, I picked up The Trench Book and I found these flats, the one pair left (my size), marked down from $130 to $30. Can it get any easier? 

Compliment Meter: 2. No big hurrah for these, but a few compliments. Shoe confidence level: High. 

Comfort: Ballet flats are notoriously comfortable, if the cut is appropriate for your foot. They can rub your heel or cut into the top of your foot if they’re not just right. These fit well, however, where the leather meets the straw they rub a bit on the top of my foot. After a little surgery (taking a gel insole, cutting a strip and adhering to the top interior of the shoe) they are perfect. Before surgery: 7 out of 10. After: 9 out of 10. 

Worn with: Dark slim cuffed denim from Club Monaco, yellow/cream/khaki silk blouse from J. Crew. 

Thoughts: “I hate these platforms that are all over the place today; they are all about grabbing attention. They are suburban! I never do a platform. Well, I did, in the 1970s, but that was a bad experience.” ~Manolo Blahnik

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Summer’s Last Straw

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer’s Last Straw at PAIR DIEM.

meta

