Gladiator meets Goddess

May 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

Ready for the Greek Isles

Strappy flat sandals have been around now for sometime. I thought I had had enough until I found these gladiator meets Greek goddess sandals from the Ralph Lauren Collection. They have a lot of detailing: gold rings, braided leather, covered heel and slim criss-crossing ankle wrap ties (they’re fairly intimidating in the box). A bright color would have been visual overload, but the neutral cognac keeps them wearable and these Italian leather gems are extremely comfortable. They’re perfect for a vacation, let’s say, to Santorini; Greece is on my travel list for the not-so-distant future. Clearly my feet are ready for the trip; give me a white and airy frock and a floppy hat, and the rest of me will be, too.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Winter 2009

Circumstances: Another two-fold trip to DSW: to see if there were any new winter shoes or boots to be had, and to pay a visit (stalk) the  now infamous RL Wedges. Shoot even I’m tired of mentioning them. As nothing in the winter selection was of interest I moved to the designer section of the store to see about the wedges. They were there, still not marked down. I glanced over the other designer shoes and then found these. Also from the Ralph Lauren Collection, these summer sandals are a gorgeous color and albeit a bit complex, worth trying on. Almost everything is worth trying on..you never know until it’s on your foot. I became a fan and immediately began imagining what spring and summer outfits they would compliment. Then I looked at the price. Well, hello there 85% off sticker. Sandals bought in December. It really does pay to shop off season, folks.

Compliment Meter: 4. Several compliments and a few people caught checking out my shoes. Shoe confidence level:High.

Comfort: Completely comfortable. No discomfort, not even from the ankle-wrapping straps. Overall, a 10 out of 10.

Worn with: Polo navy/green tattersall button down (compliments of the boys department at Nordstrom Rack), belted, dark skinny cuffed denim from Martin + Osa. One of my new favorite outfits.

Thoughts: “It’s not about age. It’s about taste, and it’s about lifestyle. I believe women of all ages can wear anything.” ~Ralph Lauren

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Gladiator meets Goddess

  • Jess says:

    Cute shoes, but I think a French pedi would amp up the sex appeal.

    • pairdiem says:

      Honestly, french pedicures creep me out.
      That being said, it is time for a new spring color on the toes (and honestly, some color on yours truly) and a lovely pale pink should do the trick.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gladiator meets Goddess at PAIR DIEM.

meta

