Sliced and Diced

April 12, 2010 § 3 Comments

ankle-high, back-zip, peep toe, high heels

Sometimes it’s necessary to dissect your closet; to take inventory of what you have, what you need and what you just plain want. Being a proponent of purchasing quality items with a long shelf life, I tend to carefully select which new styles  I’ll welcome into my wardrobe. Footwear and jewelry are the simplest way to incorporate trends as they can be reinterpreted later in a variety of ways. These slit leather, peep toe, back-zip heels from Zigi Soho may not scream longevity, but I contend, it’s all about interpretation. They add a much needed edge to my girly and preppier pieces. They look as good with skinny denim as they do with tights and skirts. The neutral color will carry them into spring where they’ll be leg lengthening with dresses and shorts. See, it’s all how you slice it.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Winter 2009

Circumstances: A relaxed Saturday morning, starting with brunch with fellow shoe appreciator/addict Vee. Seeing as how neither of us had pressing plans for the afternoon, we decided, (what else?) to swing by DSW. We wandered in and around aisle after aisle waiting for our eyes to rest upon something brilliant. We tried on several pairs of solidly stylish shoes, but nothing we were passionate about. I saw this pair on the end of an aisle and briefly pondered them before moving on. However, a rather cute young women was trying them on and they looked fabulous on her. Shoes are often the same as clothing and often don’t communicate their full impact until on a body. As she walked away my companion and I both dug through the boxes to find my size. The sizing was a bit off but I finally found a pair that fit and proceeded to wear them around the store for a while. Not completely my style, but intrigued by that, I decided to purchase and digest at home. Home they came, home they stayed.

Compliment Meter: 3. Solid compliments and a few comments on the height of the heel, not for the faint of foot. Admittedly, these are challenging to pull off at work, so my confidence was at first a little shaky. Shoe confidence level: Medium High.

Comfort: Not an 8-hour shoe, to be sure, but not terribly uncomfortable, either. A little padding wouldn’t hurt. Overall, a 6 out of 10.

Worn with: Cream cowlneck short sleeve sweater by DKNY, ripped skinny jeans from Gap.

Thoughts: “Everything inspires me but fashion.”~Christian Louboutin


Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Sliced and Diced

  • momentumoffailure says:

    I won’t lie, I think these are stunning. They don’t scream, “LOOK AT MY FEET THEY ARE A FORCE WITH WHICH TO BE RECKONED,” but they fall into that perfect, “If you notice, then you appreciate field.” If I saw these out and about, I’d give a second look to the lass donning them. The only predicament would be if I could summon the courage to talk to said maiden…

    • pairdiem says:

      Glad to hear it. I honestly thought most gents wouldn’t be on board with them, but I’m happily surprised to hear I was wrong!

  • Gorgeous! I could never pull them off (I’m a boring flats type of gal), but I can appreciate a stunning pair of heels and these definitely fit the description! These must turn heads… xoxo katie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sliced and Diced at PAIR DIEM.

meta

