The Higher the Heel, the Closer to Heaven

March 9, 2010 § 2 Comments

 

  

Heavyweight heels

 

The higher the heel, the closer to heaven some say. I can’t say I disagree. I love my ballet flats and flat boots but some days I crave a serious set of heels. They mean business and when I have them on, so do I. Maybe it’s some work that needs to be properly dealt with or my steps simply need a little sass. Whatever the case, these classic but killer heels from Calvin Klein are the answer. I’m perpetually on the lookout for a knockout pair of closet-staple neutral heels. This pair’s camel color elongates the silhouette and the dark wood heel is rich. Looking taller, legs looking longer? Thanks, I’ll take two. Thankfully, the 4”+ heel is tempered by the large platform in the front which keeps my ankles stylishly intact. 

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Winter 2010

Circumstances: A familiar tale: weekend shoe browsing at DSW, this time with fellow show connoisseur, Vee. She was on the hunt for black shoes, I wasn’t hunting for a particular pair…just researching. These caught my eye and I immediately tried them on. A pair of neutral heels was on my get list, but not an urgent need, unless I found just the right pair. They are surprisingly hard to find, neutral heels. Many have a too-skinny heel or cheap looking faux wood, too pointy of a toe, too round of a toe, etc. I tried these on and wore them around for a bit, fairly convinced. Being the frugal shopper that I am, I left the store without them, to contemplate how much I needed them (not IF, of course) and if they would go on sale. A few weeks passed and I ventured into another DSW, now certain those shoes needed to be added to my wardrobe. As I perused the clearance racks, lo and behold there they were. Marked down, and an additional 30% off. Luck? Maybe. I’ll take it.

Worn with: White perfect shirt from J. Crew, slim tweed cropped and cuffed trousers from Forever XXI, leopard print calf hair belt from J. Crew.

Compliment Meter: 3. Favorable responses and the predictable, ‘you look really tall today’ comments. Not that I mind. Shoe Confidence: High.

Comfort: For being as high as they are, you may not believe me but they are quite comfortable. Still needing a little breaking in, my feet were a bit sore by the end of the day, but no discernable heel hangover. Overall: 7 out of 10.

Thoughts: “Be able to suffer wearing a necktie or high heels for an entire evening without complaint or early removal.” ~columnist Marilyn vos Savant

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Higher the Heel, the Closer to Heaven

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Higher the Heel, the Closer to Heaven at PAIR DIEM.

meta

