Guest Post: Saddle Up

March 2, 2010 § 6 Comments

Today’s guest post is compliments of  Will in Denver, founder and writer of Momentum of Failure. (his Tuesdays with a Pretty Girl weekly post is pretty fantastic, by the way) His goal: bringing top drawer fashion to the mile high city one bow tie and stylish shoe at a time. Will is presenting Pair Diem with this pair of natty saddles.  Read below and decide whether you’ve fallen for their old school charm.

Classic Saddles and Wales

There’s a certain charm and quiet professionalism attached to a pair of saddle shoes. Having gone to private school most of my academic life, I was used to uniforms and general “kempt” look the schools expected of students. While I couldn’t wait to shed these garbs at the end of the school days, I look back at them now and think, “We really did look sharp.” And when I see what the kids are wearing today, I feel almost fortunate to have learned how to look somewhat classy at an early age. I’m a little older (and only mildly wiser), still get flustered by the pretty girl, but I find myself reliving the look of those elementary days, cemented even more by Johnston & Murphy saddles I just acquired. I’m a sucker for nostalgia, what can I say? I even cuffed, as that was cool around the playground.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Guest Post: Saddle Up

  • Tom says:

    Not really a fan of saddles. I caddied for 8 years of my young life and was a golfer years before that. They remind me too much of golf shoes, although I’m sure that golf shoes were modeled after the saddle.

    • pairdiem says:

      Tom, I could see how years of golf course work might taint your love of saddle shoes. I never had to wear them with my private school uniforms, but secretly always wished that I had. I’m a fan, in this classic navy/white combination as well as the brown/brown.

  • Will says:

    Love ’em. Just picked up a pair of Allen Edmonds in Cordovan with black saddles. Then again, I have a thing for 2-toned shoes. Waiting impatiently for spring so I can break out the spectators!!!!

  • Jasper Morse says:

    I purchased a pair of J&M’s like that last year…Where can I get some socks like that!? I’m always on the lookout for cool socks…I’ve got some with sharks on them, but none with whales on them. Blue whales at that! The largest mammal on earth…

    • pairdiem says:

      Those socks are stellar, aren’t they? I don’t think he’ll divulge the source, but being that Will’s a big fan of J. Crew, I think it’s a good place to start!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Guest Post: Saddle Up at PAIR DIEM.

meta

