Oxford Comma

February 26, 2010 § 2 Comments

Laced up and ready

I’m sure it’s become evident I have a soft spot for menswear-inspired pieces. Vests, blazers, oxfords and I are all close friends. The irony is I’m a distinctly girlie girl and these shoes prove my point. I’m still hunting the perfect pair of brogues and in the meantime also scouted a few pair of heeled oxfords which posses a similar feel with a decidedly ‘40s feminine look, like these by Seychelles. Olive green, wingtip-inspired detailing with school-yard lacing, all atop a hidden platform and high 4″ stacked wood heel. The detailing and weighty heel keep them from being too sweet; a nice balance of classic and modern, his and hers. I’m so far enjoying them with tights and dresses and looking forward to pairing their girlishness with my (converted-from-trousers) navy corduroy cuffed shorts. Come spring the sturdy heels will anchor flowy florals and yes, more shorts. One way or another, every outfit needs a touch of tough. Just a touch.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Winter 2010

Circumstances: The Gilt curse: daily deluge of what is currently listed on Gilt.com for a fraction of retail price…only to visit the site and realize everything is either entirely out of the price range, or completely sold out. Yet I still always look. I’m a sucker for fashion and in general just like looking at pretty things. The introduction of Gilt Fuse, the diffusion site with a lower price point seemed exciting at first. I soon realized most of the offerings were lackluster. However, I always search a little harder when I realize a shoe brand is up for sale, as I did when I noticed Seychelles were being featured. This pair caught my eye, as did the very small price tag. Is it risky to buy online? A bit, but since I have owned this particular brand in the past and know they are quite comfortable, I took the plunge (along with a pair of ballet flats). It’s always a happy day when you arrive home to a package (from anywhere, really) and especially if that box contains shoes. Thankfully these fit, unfortunately the ballet flats did not. I’m still pleased and will be wearing these well into spring.

Compliment Meter: 4. Positive responses from the fashion forward set at work. Comments of the day,‘so what color ARE those?’ and ‘those are crazy cute’. I’ll take it. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: A hidden platform always aids in avoiding foot fatigue with heels, especially a 4″ pair, and these are no exception. They also have the standard Seychelles padding and I remained ache-free until around 4pm. Not bad for a first wear. Overall, 7.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Navy, cream and olive print shirt dress by Notice, khaki patterned tights from Gap, cream scarf/wrap, olive coat from Tulle.

Thoughts: “I like women who wear shoes that aren’t the obvious choice, who can make something a bit off-key look super sexy”. ~Shoe designer Jonathan Kelsey

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Oxford Comma

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oxford Comma at PAIR DIEM.

meta

