Ankle Biter

December 22, 2009 § 1 Comment

 

tis the season for tights and ankle boots

 

Ankle boots. The term immediately conjures up kitten-heel pointy-toed images from a 90s Prince video (or whatever he was called at the time) but like all things in fashion, everything old is new again. After completing the Pair Diem challenge, I knew it was time to replace my standard black heeled boots for the fall. After just a bit of shopping I changed my tune. I realized what I had previously worn with my black heeled boots, (tights, dresses, denim, leggings) would look just as fabulous, but that much more fresh, with a pair of ankle boots. This pair, by No. 704b (an offshoot of Modern Vintage), are just the right weight, a must for an ankle boot. The substantial and high heel, rounded toe and side buckle balance out every dress, skinny jean and my new favorite, tights and shorts. I like the scalloped seam on the toe that hints at an almost spectator/oxford styling. They’re like wearing the perfect pair of black boots…but abbreviated. Next fall I’ll have my eyes back on a full-size pair but until then, I’ll be kicking around in these.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2009

Circumstances: Another weekend afternoon shopping excursion to DSW, perusing the clearance racks. I had once again, yes I realize I am a broken record, gone to stalk the infamous RL wedges which were, yes once again, still full price. Stalking them has now become a hobby, actually. Back on topic…on my radar, as always this time of year, are boots. I was rather disappointed with the boot selection at DSW this year, save for a pair or two of Frye, but nothing really of note. When I found this pair in the clearance section I immediately though they were full size boots. I was skeptical at first, as I am of every ankle boot, but gave them a shot. Not too dainty, not too clunky, detailed enough to be interesting, no crazy zippers or studs…they seemed worth a try. Definitely worth taking home with the additional 40% off sticker, once I tried them with my knit dresses and tights, there was no going back.

Compliment Meter: 3. Solid compliments and a few comments on the height of the heel, not for the faint of foot. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Breaking in definitely necessary. Day one brought on pain by the third hour. After a few wears, can go all day with just some foot fatigue which will lessen as the leather stretches a bit more. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Grey v-neck sweater dress by Moth, cream long sleeve thermal by Rugby, black tights, charcoal hooded scarf from Michael Kors.

Thoughts: “Nothing is too high as long as the girl is rocking the shoes, and the shoes aren’t wearing the girl.”~Shoe designer George Esquivel

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Ankle Biter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ankle Biter at PAIR DIEM.

meta

