To a T

December 7, 2009 § 1 Comment

 

 

Vintage-inspired T-straps

 

I’ve had quite the luck lately with shoe bargains and the best bargains are often surprises. I recently posted about Fossil’s women shoes launch and a pair of booties I found (unfortunately, all sold out of my size). Well, a serious perk is the in-house bargain discounts we get on merchandise. I came across this pair the day before Thanksgiving break for nearly nothing and decided to give them a whirl. The vintage-y t-strap mary jane silhouette is girlie and dainty. I’m fond of the two-tone rich browns and especially the leather wrapped wood heel detail. The lower heel also lends a 1940s vibe while being extremely comfortable. I’m really loving lower heels with skinny denim and maybe shorts (yes, shorts); higher heels with skirts and dresses. Bring on the 40s and post-war era dressing.

I was in the office frantically trying to get work done, as is always the case just before leaving on vacation. About to grab lunch I heard a small commotion in the large conference room nearby. My coworkers informed me of the clearance sale going on for employees as the company tried to clear out merchandise before the holidays. Since I was out the week prior on a photoshoot, I had heard nothing of it! Decideding it was worth a look, I went to explore. Hoards of people scouring through a ton of merchandise is what met me. I bee-lined for the shoes (but of course) hoping to find the grey booties I’m wanting. No luck. I did spot these and found my size. Not much else tempted me among the rabble, except a $5 striped cashmere scarf, as I headed for check out. All said and done, I walked out with both for an Alexander Hamilton.

Considering I just bought them, I actually didn’t wear them all day, just for a few minutes, but I predict comfortable. And I also predict a cute outfit when I do wear them. Probably this plaid shirt from Rugby, skinny ripped denim from Gap. Maybe a vest, maybe a blazer…decisions, decisions.

Thoughts: “I think shoes are coveted because they are mini-sculptures. You can stare at a shoe on your shelf and feel as much happiness as when you actually have them on your feet.” ~Shoe designer Tiffany Tuttle

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to To a T

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To a T at PAIR DIEM.

meta

