I’m Thankful For… Ebay

November 27, 2009 § Leave a comment

 

Bright, happy, printed silk flats

Bright, happy, printed silk flats

These days, who isn’t thankful for a bargain? A friend with a mild addiction to Ebay reminded me of  this as he snatched up deal after deal amid bidding frenzies. I’m an Ebay fan, but often forget all about it as I have my normal rotation of stores firmly in place. One on heavy rotation is J. Crew. I love me a ballet flat and some of the most adorable come via J. Crew. I love them in fall and daily alternate between them and boots exclusively for  a good 4 months. I’ve found several pairs of flattering skinny denim, a feat in itself, and adding a pair of bright flats to them adds happiness to any outfit. Not wanting to pay retail price (naturally, I rarely do, anyways) I scoured Ebay for less expensive alternatives. This J. Crew pair with their silk tie-inspired pattern and navy trim were an easy decision. Really, just about anything trimmed in navy is going to catch my eye, and given my addiction to said color, will go with nearly everything in my wardrobe. Even more of a bargain.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2009

Circumstances: As mentioned above, I was scouring Ebay for some bright ballet flats. I had my mind set on yellow suede, and still do, but the asking price for yellow suede flats was still ridiculous. I spent close to a week ‘watching’ items and pouring through page after page of shoes until I found these: magenta silk and navy tie print, navy leather trim, near perfect condition, my size and a straight bargain. I snatched them up for less than $20, including shipping.

Compliment Meter: 3. Several compliments, especially on the silk material and pattern. Naturally, everyone was rather impressed with the price. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: As with all ballet flats, a little breaking in is necessary, but overall no complaints. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: White oxford from Rugby, grey cashmere vest from Banana Republic, skinny denim from Urban Outfitters.

Thoughts: I can’t wear flat shoes. My feet repel them.” ~Mariah Carey

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m Thankful For… Ebay at PAIR DIEM.

meta

