Reiding & Riding

November 13, 2009 § 4 Comments

BillyReid

Billy Reid's Lurleen Equestrian Boot

The hunt continues: my perennial quest for boots. This year’s goal, a carryover from last year, flat riding-ish boots. Although these made it through the Pair Diem challenge, and I gave these away after they received a mediocre rating, I am still in need of the right flat boots. Equestrian-inspired but not too cosutmey, a little tough but not too biker, well designed but not trendy, classic but not old-lady. Perfection. That’s what I want.

I discovered this photo from a fashionable colleague and oh how I’ve fallen in love with these boots from Billy Reid. The back zip, the tab snap, the asymmetric curved top with loop, the simplicity. Without trying them on I will not claim perfection, but I just adore them. And the photo? Very well styled. It would take a lot to get me to want, much less wear, leather leggings…but Billy Reid is coming pretty darn close.

“I’m always astonished by how much men misunderstand women. For one, men don’t understand how a woman can own 300 pairs of shoes. For a woman, it’s the most natural thing in the world.” ~Christian Louboutin

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Reiding & Riding

  • Jenn says:

    I bought the Ciao Bella version of these off Piperlime. I had tried on the camel color at DSW but found the dark brown easier to work with.

  • Lilo says:

    I too am drooling over these Billy Reid boots. Have you tried them on? I’m curious how they run around the calves, as Billy Reid gives no indication on the site as to the calf circumference. I just checked out the Ciao Bella version on Piperlime, and they look “cheap” compared to the Billy Reid ones–at least in the photos. I’m intrigued, however, as most reviewers said the Ciao Bella boots are very comfy. Can you tell me why they didn’t work for you? Are you planning on ordering the Billy Reid boots? If so, post some pics! I just might take the plunge. I’m also on the prowl for those perfect equestrian boots.

    • pairdiem says:

      Yes, Lilo, I’ve tried them on…in all 3 colors, actually. I have fairly slim calves and they fit me well; not fitted on the calves but that’s how I like them. Plenty of room with skinny jeans, a true riding boot. They Ciao Bella version were just not for me. The dark brown color was not what I’m looking for (I’m looking for more of a warm cognac) and the calf circumference was just too big. However, my sister bought the brown and loves them. I’ll post pics of me in the Billy boots for you to see…I’m hopeful they will soon be on sale!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reiding & Riding at PAIR DIEM.

meta

