Shutting it Down

November 6, 2009 § 3 Comments

rachelshoes

Steep black girlie heels balancing menswear tweed.

I’m not a huge TV watcher and generally don’t get addicted to shows. Since the addition of fancy-pants cable and DVR in my new apartment, this has changed. My latest loves are shows revolved around what I love: fashion, food and dance. This translates visually into Top Chef, So You Think You Can Dance, Project Runway, and the guiltiest pleasure, The Rachel Zoe Project. Watching Rachel, Taylor, Brad and the daily struggle to outfit starlets with fabulous clothes while Rachel attempts to not break her own bank account is pretty entertaining. One thing always present on Rachel’s tiny frame, other than her monstrous sunwear: super high platforms. These sky high suede heels, by Jessica Simpson, are my tribute to Rachel. I even wore them on Halloween when I dressed as miss Rachel. (complete with sunwear, starbucks and my assistant Brad) I love the material and the small cut-out along with the bow-like addition on the sides that add just the right abount of sweetness to the severity. The one inch front platform also helps offset the 4.75″ heel. What I can’t wait for? wearing them with everything this fall and winter..and i do mean everything.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2009

Circumstances: Sunday afternoon shoe perusing, one of my favorite weekend activities; not shopping with an exact fashion goal, just browsing the current footwear offerings. Once again I find myself in DSW (and of course while there I must check on the beloved RL’s, you guessed it, still full retail). I love looking at shoes aisle after aisle, imagining what outfits they would compliment best. I recently, internally, started forming an attachment to vertiginous platforms. It’s not that I hadn’t previously liked them, that’s just how my shoe shopping tendencies work. I am attracted to a style, I digest it, internally, almost unconciously mulling it over, looking for my perfect iteration of a trend, and then it happens: I spot the pair. I know they answer that little voice in my head and fill the void on my mental ‘get list’. This accurately describes when I found these shoes, no hesitation. Purchased.

Compliment Meter: 5. Very positive responses, especially about the height. Could have been sheer respect or disbelief that I even wore a pair of heels this high. Comments of the day, “You look like a journalist” and “Wow, you are tall in those” (heard several times) Either way, Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Moderate. The thick heel is walkable and the platform helps, but by mid afternoon I was in pain. Consequence, a significant heel hangover. Overall, a 6 out of 10.

Worn with: Ballet-neck 3/4 sleeve black knit top from Club Monaco, tweed ankle-length slouchy cuffed trousers from Forever XXI, skinny silver belt from J. Crew, OPI’s Boris and Natasha on my nails.

Thoughts: “Who doesn’t look better with 7 more inches?” ~Rachel Zoe

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Shutting it Down

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shutting it Down at PAIR DIEM.

meta