Channeling Chanel

October 21, 2009 § 4 Comments

I know it's a looser shot, but just I had to show my dress. It has pockets. AND crinoline.

I know it's a looser shot, but just I had to show my dress. It has pockets. AND crinoline.

It’s admittedly gutsy to claim at any point to be channeling one of fashion’s greatest icons. No one has done more for women’s fashion, or the color black, than Coco Chanel. She did invent the LBD, afterall. I eagerly anticipated the latest fashion film, Coco Before Chanel, starring Audrey Tautou. It was enjoyable, but I yearned for further development of her style evolution and establishment of the preeminent fashion house. One attribute  of Chanel that I’ve always been drawn to is it’s simple, ladylike cuts and strong color palette…at it’s core consisting primarily of black and white. Add to that my love for slingbacks and 40s inspired accessories and you’ve got these shoes by Very Volatile. The natural beige/black combination is more wearable for me than stark white and black and I think they just might look adorable with some black opaque tights and pearls. But then again, what doesn’t?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2009

Circumstances: Shoe stalking, episode 3. Once again I find myself in DSW checking on the beloved RL’s that are incredulously STILL full price. It’s October, people! In any case, while I’m there I decide to peruse the aisles to see what the latest shoe offering is. I have to look, it’s just a fact. I found these cuties in the clearance section, my favorite section after the designer section, of course, but so much more realistic. I know I admitted to generally steering clear of the chunky heels, but the overall shape and the black band around the base was just too much. The two-tone and side leather-wrapped buttons sealed the deal on these girlie heels.

Compliment Meter: 3. Generally positive responses, especially about the side button. Shoe confidence level: Medium high.

Comfort: Moderate. The thick heel is walkable, but it lacks padding in the front. I of course remedied that with gel inserts. Overall, a 6 out of 10.

Worn with: Enjoying one of our last 70 degree days of the year in a black knit top/cotton embroidered skirt ensemble dress from Anthropologie. Coral cardigan from Banana Republic and wide waisted black belt.

Thoughts: “Luxury must be comfortable, otherwise it is not luxury.” ~Coco Chanel


Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Channeling Chanel

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Channeling Chanel at PAIR DIEM.

meta

