Hunting the Hunter

October 10, 2009 § 5 Comments

wet weather weapons

wet weather weapons

On a gray Friday morning after having overslept and run out the door helter-skelter to dash to work, there aren’t many things as satisfying as being able to slosh through torrents of rain and large puddles and remain dry. Stylishly, of course. I’ve long wanted a pair of Hunters, the most classic of wellies. Hand-made in Scotland, each pair takes a week to craft. Add to that their riding-boot aesthetic, wide variety of colors and immense comfort and you understand why I’ve been eyeing these for so long. My first decision: what color to get. I contemplated the Hunter green, but settled on the navy, not at all surprisingly. I love the color navy and am honestly addicted to it. It’s my ‘dark’ of choice 9 times out of 10 and, and the only color I substitute for black in my wardrobe. In the case of these wellies, the navy looks fabulous with jeans, my main rainy-day gear and, in the spirit of Kate Moss, come spring I’ll switch to shorts… minus the vest.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2009

Circumstances: Having eyed these boats for several months, it was only a matter of time until I decided to purchase them. The unseasonable wetness this fall in Dallas propelled me to make the purchase as every day I arrived soggily to work. I scoured sites in my typically stalker-like fashion, and waited for them to go on sale, but their popularity made that near impossible. After much research, I decided to purchase 2 pairs, in differing sizes. Several reviews stated Hunters run large and I wanted to be certain to get the correct size. The only way to make this kind of purchase is through Zappos because of their free shipping and returns, both ways, and their speedy shipping. They arrived, I love them, and had the right size. And I secretly hope it keeps raining.

Compliment Meter: 4. Nice compliments, possibly because I gushed about how great they are. Comments of the day from Rick, “Going digging for clams later?” and Myron, “You look like Paddington Bear.” Ha, whatever. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: So comfortable! I could wear them forever, my feet were cozy and dry. Overall, 10 out of 10.

Worn with: White double v-neck navy-tipped tennis sweater from Club Monaco and skinny jeans from Urban Outfitters. Umbrella from J.Crew.

Thoughts: A shoe, it needs to be pretty, but you shouldn’t suffer. Happiness is much nicer.”~Christian Louboutin

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Hunting the Hunter

  • Love the navy! Had the green and now have the navy’s on deck myself. Funny you should mention it as you “dark” color of choice. I am currently having an inner struggle over the black J. Crew Minnies vs. the navy. Will prob break down and get both…XXOO

    • pairdiem says:

      I have a severe addiction to the color navy, no doubt. I contemplated the green, too, we must be kindred spirits. Love the Minnies…I have the city capri in navy so I’ll probably get them in black, ha. 🙂

  • momentumoffailure says:

    A lady in Hunters. Where do I put the ring?

  • Annette says:

    Just scored a pair of tall, red Hunter boots on Gilt for $70! Great way to start the week and definitely brightens my Monday! Bring on the rain!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hunting the Hunter at PAIR DIEM.

meta

