Alter Ego

October 7, 2009 § 6 Comments

Over and above    Over and above 

Fall is here and the best part of the season, from my fashion perspective, is boots. I love boots, with dresses, skinny jeans, and this year, possibly with shorts. Last July as I filtered through the pairs being voted in or out of my closet, I came across these boots from way back on Day 19 of the challenge. I wasn’t loving the pirate-y feel when I last wore them, cause primarily by the top fold-over cuff (and the Captain Morgan comments I kept hearing). Still believing they had potential, I considered having them altered by my cobbler, removing the cuff off altogether. I’ve recently begun developing an addiction to my tailor and cobbler…it’s amazing what they can do with pieces you already own. After discussing with a friend who has no fewer than 25 pairs of boots, we came up with a solution, no alteration needed: flip them up, rock them as OTK boots. Over The Knee, that is. This silhouette has been seen everywhere lately. Niemans even has an entire section of their online shoe shop devoted to it. However, I had my doubts. The phrase OTK immediately conjured thoughts of Julia Roberts strutting in thigh-high patent in Pretty Woman, not exactly the look I normally aim for. 

 

I decided to give it a shot. After attempting the OTK look with these boots I realized, as is true with most items in fashion, it’s all in how you wear it. The casual brown leather stacked-heel boots worn over skinnies is a far cry from skintight thigh-high boots with a patent mini, projecting more of an equestrian with an edge feel. Now that is something I can work with. Even better, it cost me nothing. Brilliant.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007, Repurposed: Fall 2009

Compliment Meter: 4. Positive comments, especially from those remembering the way I formerly wore them. Comment of the day from Bethany, “Where’s your riding crop?” Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: The 4″ heel is a bit intense, especially for work because of all the running around I do. My calves definitely get a workout, but the gel inserts help. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Classic white oxford from J.Crew, skinny denim from Urban Outfitters.

Thoughts: “Don’t defend the shoe to me.” ~Tim Gunn (Project Runway)

What do you think of the new interpretation?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Alter Ego

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alter Ego at PAIR DIEM.

meta

