Celine. Not Dion.

September 28, 2009 § Leave a comment

Neutral wedges in butter-soft leather

Neutral wedges in butter-soft leather

OK, I know, it’s fall and I’m posting sandals…but as I mentioned, the end of season sales can just be too tempting. It’s often worth investing in a great item in anticipation of wearing them in seasons to come. After an unplanned marathon shoe event I found this pair of Celine wedges. One pair left. In my size. 85% off. Really. Impossible not to buy them. Love the color of the leather and the way it wraps onto the wood wedge, which also forms a stiletto-like silhouette with it’s tapered heel. I continue to stalk the RL’s but in the meantime these are a great neutral sandal addition to my hot weather wardrobe. Luckily, the 95 degree weather let me show off this pair one more time before packing them away until next spring.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2009

Circumstances: I recently had an unintentionally eventful and exhausting Saturday. Starting with a relaxing brunch on a patio with my friend Vee, I had very little lined up to do and planned on a peaceful afternoon. We decided to take a leisurely stop by DSW for fun, and I wanted to show her the Ralph Lauren wedges I am still (yes, still) stalking. Little did we know this was about to turn into an all out shoe-shopping extravaganza. It began slowly. As we picked up pair after pair it turned into an all-out fever pitched event. Blame it on the fact that neither of us have done much shopping or the fresh shipments of fall shoes if you like. Either way, we ended up at not one but two different DSWs searching for our sizes. It paid off. We each went home with multiple pairs and even picked up a pair for our friend AB. Spreading the shoe love.

Compliment Meter: 5. Great responses today, from ladies and gents alike. Shoe confidence level: Very High. It helps that they make me easily 4″ taller. Always an added bonus.

Comfort: Fairly comfortable, actually. The wedge keeps them from taking a toll on my feet. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: In one day, both a v-neck top and scarf with my Seven wide leg jeans and a Fossil magenta sleeveless knit dress belted with a light khaki croco belt from Club Monaco.

Thoughts: Remember, Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, but backwards and in high heels.” ~Faith Whittlesey


Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Celine. Not Dion. at PAIR DIEM.

meta

