Late Summer Fling

September 23, 2009 § 4 Comments

new summer staples, even a bit late    new summer staples, even a bit late

Truth be told I took a month and a half break from shoe shopping. That’s right, not a pair, and barely even looking…and that’s saying something for me. As you know from my Replacements post I was on the hunt for a pair of summer sandals, casual, nice and high, to be worn with abandon with shorts and skirts. I’m still hunting, rather, stalking,  these from the Ralph Lauren Collection and waiting for them to approach a more realistic price. For some inexplicable reason, they are still being sold for full retail at DSW even though we are three weeks into September.

A few weeks ago, I had been shoe stalking the aforementioned RL’s when I came across the pair above last month on Yoox, also from the RL Collection. Not surprisingly the striped canvas preppyiness was attractive to me, beckoning thoughts of a late summer jaunt to Nantucket. For everyday life, I pictured wearing them with all my shorts and summer skirts. A stripe can be neutral, but a more interesting one. I scooped these up at 85% off  and they became my first pair of replacements, the first post-challenge pair.

I know, buying espadrilles in August seems late as all the new fall shoes have already hit the floor. However, being that I live in hades-hot Texas, our summer continues practically into October. Besides, all savvy shoppers know the best deals can be had at the end of the season. If it’s too late to wear them now, a classic pair can be saved for next spring. And around here, that’s only a few months away.

Thought: “Always buy a good pair of shoes and a good bed, as if you aren’t in one you are in the other.” ~Gloria Hunniford

My first pair of replacements have been purchased. How did I do?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Late Summer Fling

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Late Summer Fling at PAIR DIEM.

meta

