Guest Post #4: Rick’s Race to the Finish

July 18, 2009 § Leave a comment

I admit I’m fairly surprised but delighted that not just females are sending me their pairs to post. The latest pair come from a co-worker and long time friend, (Fried-Chicken) Rick.

Read below and vote on his kicks, and send me your pairs to be posted! scarpeaux825@yahoo.com

On your mark...get set....

On your mark...get set....

A bit of background about myself: I’ve worked with Sara since she’s had curly hair. No, I mean REALLY curly hair. I sit about 20 feet away from her and have been known to spout of lines from the greatest comedy of all time, ‘Who’s The Boss?’ “Isn’t dat rite, An-jell-uh?” But I digress…

The red adidas goodyear shoes are worn about every other week to the office and to EVERY Texas Tech football game since I bought them (but didn’t bring the team much luck in the last Cotton Bowl). They also accompany me to the occasional DFW Gearheads meetings to watch Formula 1 races. For those not familiar with Formula 1 racing, its kinda like NASCAR but with better cars, better drivers, better races, better tracks, well, I think you get the idea.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin:  The label says: Made in China, so let’s go with that.

Date of Purchase: Circa 2005

Circumstances: The wife was probably at work saving lives, leaving me to troll the adidas outlet store alone (with discount card firmly in hand). I found these babies along the wall dedicated to the Originals brand of adidas.  It took me .0002 seconds to decide to purchase them since: A) red and black are my alma mater colors, GUNS UP!!! B) I’m a sucker for racing shoes. C) there’s real carbon fiber in the heel and outside edge of shoe. D) they had a pair in size 12!

Compliment Meter: 6. I’ll get the occasional “nice shoes” from people, but I can’t tell if its sarcasm or genuine affection. All I know is not many Tech alumns can pull of the red/black shoes with matching face/body paint.

Comfort: Extremely. 9 out of 10. Plenty of arch support for my flat feet. Which I’m told didn’t get me into the army.

Worn with: Jeans and my favorite Crystal Gayle t-shirt

Thoughts:  If you ain’t first, you’re last.” ~Ricky Bobby 

So what do we think? Are they race worthy or are they the pits?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Guest Post #4: Rick’s Race to the Finish at PAIR DIEM.

meta

