Day 82: The Grand Finale

July 6, 2009 § 12 Comments

Louboutins, the final fete

Louboutins, the final fete

They deserved a shot all their own

They deserved a shot all their own

What can be said about who many argue is the definitive designer of women’s footwear, Christian Louboutin? Loubies, as my friends and I refer to them, are some of the most sought-after shoes in the world of fashion footwear, renowned for designs crafted in such a way they are not only feminine and gorgeous but are also comfortable. The lipstick read sole, their trademark, is seen in every fashion rag and on countless red carpets. They made an appearance in my ‘Alternate World‘ post when I used gorgeous snakeskin pair in a photoshoot. They also, until recently, occupied a spot on my ‘one day I will have’ list along with a few other fashion wishes, some attainable, some not as much (DVF wrap dress, check, Prada shoes or bag, check, Burberry trench, we’ll see, etc) This chocolate brown pair, whose story is so wonderful, are fetching in their simplicity. The beauty of the pointed toe, slim heel and delicately curved sides are difficult to appreciate unless in person. A true classic and the epitome of a timeless, well-designed heel. I could think of no better pair to serve as the culmination of the Pair Diem challenge. Other shoes shall be added, but these stand alone.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2009

Circumstances: This is a bit of a shoe fairy tale. My fashionable and frugal friend Karla makes a point to drop by a variety of resale shops in hopes of finding a few steals. This has served her well and not surprisingly so, since there are very good resale shops in Dallas. Women here know 2 things very well: food and shopping. One day Karla rings me and drops the shocking news. She was at a resale shop, and honestly, one not known for carrying any high end designers, and happened upon 2, yes 2, pairs of Christian Louboutins. She was in shock; not only was the resale shop not known for carrying the likes of Louboutin, they were selling them off at a steal. She couldn’t believe her eyes, and immediately bought both pairs. One, a high round toe wedge, and these. The wedges fit her well but unfortunately the heels were too big. She bought them regardless, positive they would fit her sister. I couldn’t believe her luck as I exclaimed,’ you have GOT to be kidding me?!’ but luck was not far behind. The heels in fact did not fit her sister so Karla, being the extremely generous soul she is, brought them to me. As I slid them on in front of several of our friends, the oohs and ahhs were audible. They fit like a glove. Euphoric shoe heaven. A gift from above, straight to my feet.

Compliment Meter: 8. Great responses today, not a bit of a surprise. After learning I was sporting Louboutins coworker Myron (see Bethany Gets Married post) called his wife at home who exclaimed, ‘No she isn’t!’ and promptly made him snap a photo and email it to her. Shoe confidence level: Very High. Probably the highest of all pairs I own.

Comfort: Comfortable, and no I’m not kidding. They have an artfully hidden inner cushion under the ball of the foot and there was no rubbing. Lovely. Overall, an 8.5 out of 10. Can I please have a closet full of these???

Worn with: Light blue oxford with sleeves rolled and collar (with silk tie lining) up, navy pencil cropped pants from J. Crew. 

Thoughts: I definitely have a lot of Louboutins because that’s what Oprah likes, and I do whatever Oprah tells me.”           ~Kathy Griffin

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?


Tagged: , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Day 82: The Grand Finale

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 82: The Grand Finale at PAIR DIEM.

meta

