Day 80: Textured Toes

June 29, 2009 § 4 Comments

A bit shiny, a bit textured, all flat

A bit shiny, a bit textured, all flat

The last of my flip flop sandal collection, another pair unearthed from under my bed. In general I am anti flip flops unless at the beach or the pool, but in lizard textured leather these are exceptions. They have a graduated strap that overlaps at the front, topped by a petite knot. The small wood heel makes them not utterly flat and the texture and shine of the material adds just a hint more interest. I might prefer them a bit more if the footbed was black instead of the pale silver, yet they have remained in the closet for a few years now. They work with maxi dresses and shorts and skirts but do they deserve to stay around? Have I replaced them with better sandal, less flip flopish options?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2006

Circumstances: On a trip to the mall in the beginning of summer several years ago, I wandered into Nine West to peruse their sale items. My shopping coworker in crime and boss at the time, Lori, had (and still does) a strong aversion to flip flops at work and I really didn’t blame her. Hence, I was looking for another pair of summer sandals, preferably in black, that were a little nicer than plain flip flops or leather. I happened upon these and immediately liked the sheen of the black texture and small wood heel. The contrasting footbed wasn’t my favorite but since I liked the rest of the shoe and when worn it wasn’t very visible, I decided they were worth the purchase. I wore them to work, Lori approved.

Compliment Meter: 1. Not much of note, though Lori did say she still liked them. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Comfortable, as flats usually are. Since most of my current sandals have some sort of ankle strap and therefore aren’t flip flops, the audible ‘flip flop’ sound did start to annoy me by the end of the day. Overall, an 8.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Black 3/4 sleepve scoopback top from Club Monaco, my new (yay!) Hudsons.

Thoughts: Who has the energy for heels?” ~Andrea Vargas-Dieppa, of Dieppa Restrepo, a line of traditional men’s style shoes

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?


Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Day 80: Textured Toes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 80: Textured Toes at PAIR DIEM.

meta

