Day 79: Black, White and All in the Family

June 26, 2009 § Leave a comment

Femme fatale in black and white

Femme fatale in black and white

One of the best things about having sisters is the ability to mooch and pilfer apparel items out of their closets. The occasional hand-me-down was almost like Christmas when we were younger because, for whatever reason, your older sister’s duds were always 3 style levels cooler than yours, at least in your own mind. This pair is an example of the reverse, given to me by younger sister Em. They have a 1940s vibe with their round toe, high vamp and tall slightly sloped heel. The graphic black and white is softened by the dainty but not so girly black leather flowers and leaves clustered around the shoe. They have resided in the closet for a long time, something about the retro vibe and the almost-Chanel like black and white color story convinced them to keep them around. They’re just cute and different but I have only worn them a handful of times in the 4 years I have owned them. I also must mention that trying to find an outfit to wear them to work with proved extremely challenging, as they are not exactly subtle, yet I have chosen to hold on to them!. Are they black, white and cute all over or just costume-y and too much work to justify?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Uncertain, probably 2005

Circumstances: As mentioned before, I was given this pair by my Em, the youngest of the 5 sisters. It’s always nice to share the same shoe size with a sibling and Em has picked some cute and crazy heels over the years. Why did she give them to me? Well the heels are quite high and her boyfriend at the time (now husband) was already shorter than her so she decided to rid her closet of all high heels. I did what I could to help her out with that, naturally. As for the purchase history, she was actually shopping in Nordstrom with our other sister, Rebecca, when she bought these shoes. When I asked Em if she recalled the purchase or story behind this pair, here’s what she wrote me:

I don’t actually remember buying the shoes. But what I do remember is after buying them going with my sister Rebecca to pick up our mother at the hair salon. I of course then pranced around the salon in my new shoes.

ps ahh the hotness.
pps they KILL your feet, but are worth it.

Rebecca remembers Em saying, “These are so uncomfortable. I have to buy them!”

Compliment Meter: 2. A few solid compliments, especially on the little flowers and leaves. I did feel like the white was just screaming in the office, though,therefore, Shoe confidence level: Medium-Low.

Comfort: My sister was right, these things are killers. Definitely ‘look cute while seated’ shoes. They had to be removed by lunchtime. Overall, a 5 out of 10.

Worn with: Tank tunic with black, white with a lavender graphic/painterly print, blue/black skinnies.

Thoughts: Hey, I put some new shoes on, and suddenly everything is right.”~Paolo Nutini (“New Shoes”)

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 79: Black, White and All in the Family at PAIR DIEM.

meta

