Day 78: Prada, Prego

June 24, 2009 § 2 Comments

Pair diem wears Prada. Today, at least.

Pair Diem wears Prada. Today, at least.

Prada. Need I say more. Revered by fashionistas, desired by style addicts and of course, worn by the ‘devil’ herself. The illustrious brand could practically put their name on some styrofoam, call it a dress and thousands would clamor to get their hands on it (not that Miuccia would do such a thing). This pair are one of the most interestingly and thoroughly designed I own, yes by Prada. They have a quirky mid heel, a chalk-white-to-grey patent gradient fade and a peep toe topped with an oval buckle. True there are a lot of elements at play here and I think they work swimmingly. I’ve worn them with jeans and dresses alike and I’ve eagerly waiting to wear them in the Pair Diem journey. I know some may be averse to the shorter and chunkier heel, but I think the cut of the rest of the shoe, and especially the buckle, balance it out. They remind me of a perfectly updated vintage shoe from the 40’s, one my stylish Grandma C would have appreciated. I do love them and, honestly, if you vote them out I just might have to ignore popular opinion. In any case, what do you think? Are they well wrought or overrated?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2008

Circumstances: Shopping at DSW with fellow shoe ‘appreciator’ AB. We actually happened a upon a pair of Pradas, very similar to these, sans buckle and with a 4″ heel. They had one pair in her tiny size 6 size and although they were on sale, were still pricey. We continued to shop as she carried them and we swooned over them, but ultimately realized they were not in the budget. Sadly, back they went. Then, weeks later we were back at DSW and found the exact same pair of Pradas, now at an extra 80% off. I was delighted at her find and bee-lined to my size, hoping for the same luck. I was not disappointed, finding this pair, only in my size. It was like we won the lottery. Pradas at literally 1/10 of the price. Home they came and they own a special place in the closet.

Compliment Meter: 4. Another popular pair with several compliments. Commment of the day, from Rick, “Is that a large bone buckle?” Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Quite comfortable. The mid heel is definitely easy to walk in, no complaints all day. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: Navy knit tank dress from Gap, grey croco belt from Club Monaco.

Thoughts: “I can spend it on shoes if I want to. You can go ahead and buy bonds.” ~Financial consultant Ruth Hayden

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 78: Prada, Prego

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 78: Prada, Prego at PAIR DIEM.

meta

