Day 77: Laser-Cut Ladies

June 23, 2009 § Leave a comment

Platformed laser-cut pumps

Platformed pumps with dainty laser-cutting

 And you thought I had worn all my grey shoes… well, I have now. These beauties once again do combine two of my favorite things, grey and suede. If it weren’t for inclement weather, I might be perfectly content to have the vast majority of my shoes crafted from suede and possibly satin. This pair of platform pumps, from Zara, are really more of a taupe than a true grey which helped justify their purchase; not that much justification was needed with their darling laser-cut uppers and fierce heel (and hidden platform which aids in the walkability). I adore the cut of the almond pointy toe and square-ish front, I find it quite flattering on the foot. They make me walk a little taller, and I am not just referring to the 3.75″ lift they give me. I hope to enjoy them with girlie skirts and shorts this season and into the fall. Are you enamored by them as well, or do they just not cut it?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2009

Circumstances: Another sisterly bonding story. I was in Vegas for work and my sis Jen decided to join me there for some good times. We’re not huge on the Vegas scene save 2 things: eating and shopping. We are very good at both. Luckily and unluckily our hotel was directly across the street from Nordstrom, and the entrance that feeds immediately into the shoe department. Shopping is often something we do together as we chat and catch up and I help Jen branch out of her usual style choices. On our second trip to the mall in 3 days we wandered into Zara. We tried on a few items but found nothing of note, until we spotted the shoe wall and these pumps…in both taupe and navy, and on sale. The shape and the cut outs were adorable, to be sure, but it wasn’t until I put one on and Jen (who is absolutely not a high heel wearer) exclaimed,“Oh, those are hot. Seriously. You have to buy them.” Again, my sister is not a high heel buyer so for her to have such a quick and enthusiastic response to a pair of platform heels is extremely rare. The only debate was the color, taupe being more versatile, and which size to buy, one a bit snug or one a bit big. I’m betting on them stretching a bit and chose the snug over the big, not wanting my heel to slip. The story becomes even sweeter when, upon returning to Dallas, I realized they were not on sale at the local Zara, but were in Vegas. Jackpot.

Compliment Meter: 4. Several fans of today’s shoes. Also received some nods of respect for enduring the height of this heel at work. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Not super comfortable, not terrible. To be fair, it’s my first time wearing them. The hidden platform helps and I think they just need a little breaking in. Overall, a 6.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Lavender knit short-sleeve dress from Anthropologie with a large button on the neckline, one of my most fav items.

Thoughts: “The comfort? It comes from the showgirls. They were always asking me to get them veal carpaccio – not to eat, I discovered, but to use to pad the ball of their shoes. I adapted that, although of course I don’t use meat!” ~Christian Louboutin, on why his shoes are so comfortable

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 77: Laser-Cut Ladies at PAIR DIEM.

meta

