Day 76: Roped In

June 22, 2009 § Leave a comment

Summer sandals, rope soles Summer sandals, rope soles

Another pair I might have forgotten I own. For as long as I can remember I’ve had a soft spot for espadrilles. I remember my first pair, either in junior high or early high school, of the flat navy twill variety. They cycle in and out of fashion regularly, but are fairly consistent staples in the east coast prep world. The most common of recent fashion is the wedge, as seen here by, oddly, Tommy Bahama, with all having some form of the woven rope sole. These have a woven rope footbed and a fabric covered sole with tan leather straps. Again, evidence of my attraction to ‘natural’-hued shoes. I wore them occasionally with shorts and dresses after purchasing and have not worn them much since. Do I need to tie them on more often, or do they need to be cut loose?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2006

Circumstances: I don’t recall much from this shopping experience, especially as far as timing goes. They were definitely purchased online, my first buying experience from overstock.com. Summer wedges were a great idea at the time and these fit the bill. The price was extremely reasonable, as was the $2 shipping so I decided to give them a shot. Not exactly the color I had seen online, which happens, I still liked them enough to keep them. Well that, and the return policy  demands a very quick turnaround time, so they remained in the closet.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive comments, but nothing exciting. I think everyone has owned a similar pair at some point. Shoe confidence level: Medium-Low.

Comfort: Solidly comfortable. The 3″ wedge is very walkable and nothing rubs or irritates. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: White, turq, khaki printed sleeveless tunic, straight leg white jeans (I could not survive the summer without them).

Thoughts: “Fashion is an art. You express who you are through what you’re wearing.” ~Daniele Donatol

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 76: Roped In at PAIR DIEM.

meta

