Day 72: Pointed Remarks

June 15, 2009 § 3 Comments

Black flats, happy red interiors

Black flats, happy red interiors

On a torrential day in Dallas I am glad to have another pair of non-sandal flats yet to be worn for the Pair Diem challenge. I’m not the biggest fan of these pointy-toe black flats, from Nine West, although I was at one time. At the onset of the return of the flat as a shoe staple, I turned to these on a regular basis. The heel is ever so slightly raised in an almost secretive wedge, giving them just a hint of height. The once-loved pointy toe is a bit dated I think and although I don’t find them to be a complete eye-sore, they may be a skosh witch/elf-like. The mere fact that I procrastinated in wearing them for a very long time is an indicator of my feelings. Maybe I’ve had them for so long I’m overlooking their good qualities. Do you find them bewitching, or caught in a bad spell?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2006

Circumstances: I was at the Nine West Outlet with AB and a dear friend from home, Sarah. Home is Virginia and she had come to visit me in Texas. When Sarah comes to visit we do the 2 things that everyone in Texas does really well…1. eat 2. shop. Sarah rarely shops so when we’re together deal-hunting, she does some major damage. We met AB at the outlet and shopped several stores, sufficiently wearing ourselves out. In the Nine West outlet I found these, an answer to the basic black flat deficit I was suffering from. They have a bright red metallic interior, by the way, which made me happy. Small details normally do.

Compliment Meter: 1. Not much attention give to these today. Bethany knew my reluctance to wear them and kindly said that not only were they not that bad, but that she approved.

Comfort: As easy as flats get. I wore them all day and through shopping and dinner in the evening with no discomfort except the occasional heel slip. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: Aubergine gathered v-neck from Target, multi print silk scarf from Urban, trusty Hudson bootcuts.

Thoughts: “I don’t do fashion, I am fashion.” ~Coco Chanel

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 3 Responses to Day 72: Pointed Remarks

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 72: Pointed Remarks at PAIR DIEM.

meta

