Day 71: Midas Touch

June 12, 2009 § 1 Comment

Shiny happy shoes

Shiny happy shoes

I was a bit cautious to wear gold heels to work, maybe unnecessarily. The casual office environment doesn’t necessarily see metallic heels often. This pair was featured in a special edition post during the early days of Pair Diem when I wore them to a charity auction. But, to be fair, I do own them and do often wear them for a night out so I decided they must be subjected to your opinion. I enjoy the texture on the leather, almost a cross-hatching effect that gives more depth than a smooth leather would. This spring I’ve begun wearing heels more frequently with cropped slim pants and shorts and these are quite adorable with navy. The basic slingback shape is easy and gold really can be worn with just about anything. Are they the golden ticket for my wardrobe, or are they tarnishing my style?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2008

Circumstances: My memory is failing me. Ok, not totally but I’m having a difficult time dusting off a particular cobweb on the memory of this shoe purchase… I  know I found then in Nine West and can see the store and the other particulars very clearly. (I also bought a round art dec0-ish clutch on this same trip) For some reason I cannot remember what mall I was in, so I think it might have been when I was home visiting my family in Virginia. Shocking how I can remember the full story of a pair from 4 years ago and cannot recall this. In anycase, I was looking for a pair of gold heels to wear for an occasion. I already owned a pair that were bought in an emergency, and that I never loved to begin with. Having been in dire need, I just settled. I tried on a few pairs here and there and liked this pair best. I liked the shape and the texture in the leather…and at half off, very light on the wallet.

Compliment Meter: 3. Sincere compliments today from coworkers. They put a bit of fancy in my step, I’ll admit. Comment of the day from Caroline, “Shoe shopping? You need it. It’s good for the soul.”

Comfort: Decently comfortable. Wore them all day with just foot fatigue and a little rubbing by the end of the day to note. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Printed silk trapeze cami, coral v-neck cardi, both from Old Navy, and slim city capri’s from J. Crew in navy.

Thoughts: “My shoes are not fashion, they are gestures.” ~Manolo Blahnik

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?


Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Day 71: Midas Touch

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 71: Midas Touch at PAIR DIEM.

meta

