Day 70: Tanned Hides

June 11, 2009 § 1 Comment

FlatGapSandals

Flat and brown....a bit like Dallas

Another pair of summer flats, in a dark ‘tan as your skin by the end of summer’ color (well not if you’re half Irish like myself, but I digress). These are from the Gap and I probably would not have purchased them except for the shopper in front of me in line at the store. It happens occasionally…you see someone else wearing something and the item is much cuter on than on the shelf. I like the braided detailing of the leather and the little holes punched around the perimeter of the shoe. I don’t wear them often, I think because I’m uncertain of how the shape looks on me. Maybe I should have just left them on someone else’s feet. You decide.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2008

Circumstances: As noted previously, I was shopping at the Gap. I don’t recall the reason or what I was looking for, but ended up finding a few items to purchase. I headed to the checkout line and noticed a petite, tan, chic lady in front of me, wearing these sandals. I liked them and inquired where they were from. I was surprised to learn she had recently purchased them there and so left the line to find them. After some searching I found my size and back to the line I went with a new pair of sandals to add to my summer wardrobe.

Compliment Meter: 2. Not enthusiastic comments, but comments nonetheless.

Comfort: Since I have not worn them often, the leather is still a bit stiff. Also, the straps are a little narrow and pinch my feet a bit. Overall, a 6 out of 10.

Worn with: Royal blue 3/4 sleeve scoop T from Club Monaco, white wide leg pants from Gap. It’s not summer without white pants.

Thoughts: “In difficult times fashion is always outrageous.”~Elsa Schiaparelli

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Day 70: Tanned Hides

  • Jenn says:

    I think they are very interesting, but wouldn’t have seen them on the shelf and thought you’d pick them out. Something about the holes on the perimeter around the toe puts me on the fence for these.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 70: Tanned Hides at PAIR DIEM.

meta

