Day 69: Woven with Sass

June 10, 2009 § 2 Comments

Woven with attitude

Woven with attitude

I may have a penchant for natural-hued shoes. Can I be blamed, though? The versatility can’t be beat and as long as the tone isn’t too ‘fleshy’ they are universally flattering. These by BCBG are girly and dainty and sassy in my opinion. Actually, they are quite similar to the very first pair I wore for Pair Diem with the peep toe and mary-jane strap. The leather is woven on the front half and smooth over the heel above the slim stacked-wood heel. They kind of remind me of dancing shoes in color and shape, and they might just make me want to do some salsa dancing… in a twirling dress at someone’s house, who just happens to be throwing an evening fiesta in their backyard with beautiful paper lanterns hung about. Ok so maybe I just flashed myself into Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights. (but if anyone is throwing that party, do let me know, won’t you?) Does this pair receive straight 10’s, or must they samba themselves right out of the closet?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: Now this is a good story…Part of my job entails art directing photoshoots, mostly of just product photography but every once in a while with models as well. I was working on a shoot for our new campaign, with a model. I worked with our stylist on wardrobing ideas and she brought clothes and shoes for our model to wear. Some of the shoot was outdoors and necessitated some walking sequences. Needless to say, some of the shoes got scuffed on the bottom, rendering them un-returnable and we were stuck with them. Well, now, what on earth could we do with those shoes? hmmmm (a few of us on the team are taking very good care of the spoils) I do like my job.

Compliment Meter: 3. Very positive responses. Bethany’s comment, “They look like the Jennifer Gray shoes…in that movie where she’s dancing! In the flowy dress.” (hence Dirty Dancing, but I’m sure you knew that)

Comfort: Easy to walk in, no discomfort until late afternoon when the peep toe does irritate my toes a bit. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Silk boxy silk blouse in mutiple shades of yellow, white and tan from J. Crew, wide leg Dojo jeans by Seven.

Thoughts: “I think one of the reasons that fashion editors and fashion people have reputations for being so mean is because their feet are killing them all the time. They’re just irritable because of that, even though they all swear up and down, “Manolos are really comfortable!” I don’t buy it.” ~T editor Alix Browne

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 69: Woven with Sass

  • Jenn says:

    I’m in the minority on this one. I like a neutral shoe and I like each individual aspect of the shoe – peep toe, texture, ankle strap, stacked heel – but it seems like too many things going on at once. take away any one of these features and I think I’d like them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 69: Woven with Sass at PAIR DIEM.

meta

