Day 66: Paired Down

June 5, 2009 § Leave a comment

 

Minimal summer sandals with a touch of yellow

Minimal summer sandals with a touch of yellow

The easiest thing to do when I wake up late for work? Throw on flats, and in the summer, flat sandals (they’re easier to run in). Luckily for me, the casual office environment lends itself easily to flat sandals and jeans, like these from  J. Crew. They’re a relatively new addition to my closet and when shopping, I debated purchasing them in tan instead of white. However white is a hard color for me to resist in the spring, and the small yellow leather touches on the sides sealed the deal. They just scream vacation to me. Is the minimal design well wrought, or are they just missing something?

 

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2009

Circumstances: I was on spring fever shopping trip, wanting a new crop of clothes for the warmer months. I went to J.Crew for a few pairs of their chino shorts, my favs, and encountered a serious sale. The store was madness as I navigated the crowded tables and racks of clothes and shoes. I had seen these online and was pleased to find them on sale. I took a few pairs with me to the dressing room, in a few colors. I ended up with some great new staples and after discussing with my salesperson the white vs. tan dilemma, decided on the white.  She concurred.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive comments, but nothing extremely enthusiastic. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Easy to walk (and run) in. My feet to slip a bit in them, as the soles don’t bend much, that may change with wear and the straps keep them secure. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Pink oxford with white and blue stripes, skinny jeans. I feel a little like Gidget minus the ribbon in the hair, but for running late, not too shabby.

Thoughts: “Americans love our shoes and Brits love that we can always pick up a deal in the U.S.” ~Lisa Snowdon, Model

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 66: Paired Down at PAIR DIEM.

meta

