Day 65: Piping Hot

June 4, 2009 § Leave a comment

Girlie black heels with pink trim   

Girlie black heels with pink trim

We are nearing the end of my black pumps, and here are a cute spring-y pair with contrasting piping, from Banana Republic. I love the d’orsay cut on the inside and the ultra light pink trim (so light it almost reads white), running along the shoe. They’re such a girlie cut with the peep toe and petal-like cut out, and I love the tall straight heel. I have usually paired these with dresses or pencil skirts and today with my fav pair of silk cream trousers that announce the arrival of warm weather. The front are slightly squared-off which I’m not particularly fond of and therefore have not worn them in some time, I’d say a year, most likely. Maybe it’s not that noticeable, but I feel like it dates them a bit. Maybe I’m over-thinking their cuteness. You be the judge.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2005

Circumstances: I’m unsure of the exact date of purchase of these heels, but I do remember finding them at Banana Republic, on serious sale. Always attracted to feminine footwear, I liked the details and the contrasting piping. They were an easy choice and I wore them frequently with LBD’s to several weddings that year, often garnering a few compliments.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive responses, although not as many as I predicted. I blame that on my super-long trousers. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Nicely broken in, one heel started to slip around midday. The heel is quite hight but I didn’t feel discomfort until late afternoon. Overall, a 7.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Royal blue short-sleeved ruched knit top, wide leg cream pants both from Anthropologie, black skinny belt. So used to seeing me in denim, my boss called it my ‘gussied up’ look.

Thoughts: I went to see the Jackson Five when I was a kid, and they all wore flat shoes… and it didn’t work.” ~Princess Diana

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 65: Piping Hot at PAIR DIEM.

meta

