Day 64: Atop a Grassy Heel

June 3, 2009 § 5 Comments

Slim wedges with bamboo and grassy heels. Why not?

Slim wedges with bamboo and grassy heels. Why not?

Now here’s a pair I completely forgot I owned. I was performing the semi-annual closet switch that comes with the changing of the seasons (here in Texas: Hot & Not Hot). Apartment living and it’s small closets necessitates the division of clothes and shoes by seasons for storage. I had pulled out my summer wares only to unearth several pairs of forgotten-about shoes. This pair is interestingly different with the cut out peep toe in a nice natural tan leather, slingback, and a wedge heel…covered in what can only be described as  a woven/bamboo texture and bamboo/jungle grass print. Odd, I know. The cut on the front of the foot, along with the natural color, is flattering but even when I bought them I wasn’t convinced about the strange heel. I wonder if they disappear in tall grass. Regardless, maybe there’s a good reason I forgot all about them. Should they be relegated to permanent memory loss?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2006

Circumstances: I recall finding these at DSW. I wasn’t searching for a particular pair, but was wanting a neutral/tan pair of sandals for the summer. I liked the cut of the front of the shoe and the cutouts. Even then however, I found the heel a little strange. Back then I think I tried to classify it as ‘quirky’ because I liked the rest of the shoe so much. Ah the rationalization we all let happen when we’re shopping… To be fair, maybe back in ’06 they were quirky and not as strange. Yes I’m positive they were. Home they came and I enjoyed them with jeans and bermuda shorts all summer long.

Compliment Meter: 1. Predictable responses, as in, not many. A few looks without comments. Shoe confidence level: Medium-Low.

Comfort: The mid-wedge heel makes them very walkable. No major complaints although the slingback does slip a little. Overall, an 8.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Tan ribbed 3/4 v-neck tissue tee from Club Monaco, cream ruffle tank underneath, wide leg lightweight jeans.

Thoughts: “I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes. I had one thousand and sixty.” ~Imelda Marcos

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Day 64: Atop a Grassy Heel

  • Dani says:

    I don’t mean to be rude cos you know I love your gorgeous taste, but I don’t think you can comment on the capris on random Italian boy with these in your wardrobe 😉

    (TEASING!!!!)

    • pairdiem says:

      HA, how did I know THAT was coming?? The difference is: I forgot I owned these and have had them quite a long time. He definitely did not forget, and made a conscious effort to wear them 😉

  • kha says:

    I like the front half of the shoe, just not the back half. Still, I would have to defer to Sara on any conversation I may have with her regarding style, however unlikely that conversation would be. I can’t quite bring myself to comment on the guy capris. 😉 (regular smiley face type symbol)

    • pairdiem says:

      I agree Kirk, the front of the shoe is it’s redeeming aspect. You leave the men’s denim capris to us…and don’t ever wear them.

  • pairdiem says:

    I’m predicting Hall of Shame!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 64: Atop a Grassy Heel at PAIR DIEM.

meta

