Day 63: The Flatlands

May 29, 2009 § 5 Comments

 

The flattest flats with black leather straps

The flattest flats with black leather straps

Due to traveling this week and the amount of time I’ve had to spend on my feet for work, I’ve resorted to flats to keep my feet (relatively) happy. You can’t get much flatter than this pair, by Rocket Dog. They’re a basic flip flop made a little less so by the placement of the straps. Their shape changes from thin to thick at the outer part of the foot and they are placed much farther up on the foot than most. I think they look like ninja flip flops, if ninja’s wore flip flops. In hindsight I think I would have preferred them in white, but it’s hard to go wrong with black. They’re surprisingly quite comfortable but is the shape cute or just quirky?  

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: I picked these up at DSW early last year before the change of seasons. I was looking for a new pair of casual black sandals and I liked the contrasting sole and the unique shape of the straps. I took them home and proceeded to find them on the feet of several other coworkers and a few strangers. A bit of style confirmation? Possibly. Or maybe we’re all just attracted to the ‘something different.’

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive responses. Bethany in particular is quite fond of them. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Other than the occasionally noisier-than n-rmal ‘flop,’ I have no complaints. Overall, an 8.5 out of 10.

Worn with: White and black blouson printed top with crocheted neckline from Urban Outfitters and, my summer staple, white jeans. Bring on the heat.

Thoughts: “The most auspicious days to shop for shoes are those days that end in the letter “Y”.” ~Feng Shoe

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Day 63: The Flatlands

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 63: The Flatlands at PAIR DIEM.

meta

