Day 61: Going Greek

May 25, 2009 § 4 Comments

Grey Grecian Sandals

Grey Grecian Sandal

Anything that even slightly resembles something a Greek goddess would wear?Sign me up. These grey faux snakeskin flat sandals have the Grecian feel while tending a bit more ‘goddess’ than Roman ‘gladiator.’ They are a welcome change to the heels I’ve been wearing all week! I like the texture and that it gives them a more exotic touch (and of course I love the color). The straps are strappy without being overwhelming and they grey can be worn with just about everything. I postively wore them out last Summer and intend on doing the same this year, unless you tell me differently. Is the era of  Grecian sandals over or will they continue their reign as goddess of Summer sandals?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: I found these on a lunch-hour romp through Old Navy. As I’ve written about each pair of shoes I’ve realized I only shop at Old Navy on my lunch hour. Interesting. Last Spring I was on the hunt for new flat sandals, nicer than flip flops but without heels. As the gladiator style was taking hold of the Summer shoe world, I was wary. I tend to think that style can visually cut you off at the ankle, and I’m not a fan of anything that makes legs appear shorter. I found this sandal, in several colors, and naturally gravitated to the grey, although the tan color was also quite nice. They were a nice balance of strappy and neutral and I gladly took them home. My only regret was not buying them in tan also.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive responses. The texture is a hit as is the shape, especially for those wary of the overly-strappy gladiator shoe. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: These took a couple of weeks to break in, but after that, no problems whatsoever. My g0-to heel hangover remedy for Summer. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: Worn and weathered Seven jeans (yes, again), grey v-neck T (no, another one), white, pale green and pale blue sheer summer scarf. The perfect traveling outfit.

Thoughts: “I ask myself more questions than Hamlet as I ponder which shoes to wear.” ~Eva Gabor   

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Day 61: Going Greek

  • kha says:

    What’s the “other” category for? Are you hoping for amazing quips or is this for people who can’t decide up or down?

    • pairdiem says:

      Well I have been hoping for amazing quips, as you say, but have yet to get any. I would like to know why the vote is ‘other,’ though. Do you think I should just disable it?

  • Flo says:

    Honey!!!! You’re such a good little shoe blogger! I’m so impressed. All the shoes are great too. You got to throw in a pair of Dansko cloggs for me and all those people that have to choose comfort over style!!! Haha!! Can’t wait to see you!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 61: Going Greek at PAIR DIEM.

meta

