Day 60: Lemon Fresh

May 22, 2009 § 4 Comments

Shiny Happy Feet

Shiny Happy Feet

 

Maybe it’s the anticipation of this weekend’s beach trip,  or maybe it’s the optimism that inevitably hits when temperatures climb and the sun comes out, but once again I’m sporting a pair of bright, peppy, happy shoes. These lovely  lemon yellow patent peep toes are from  Nicole Miller. The color screams Spring! and the slick patent punches up any outfit. I adore the double row of top stitching and the way it runs down the sides of the heels! Attention to detail is key. The heel height is  a bit ridiculous, therefore they are half-day or evening shoes at best. As with any good pair, the pain is worth it and in time and a few more wears, I think they’ll break in nicely. I’m sad to see them retreat back into the closet, but hope to wear them again which, of course, is up to you. Are they sweet just as they are, or are these lemons just plain sour?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2009

Circumstances: Another pair found at DSW. Another glorious shopping day, the same date of purchase as the first HOF pair,  Day 9’s Grey Pumps, just before the great shopping 40-day fast. After picking up a few pairs in the clearance section, I snaked my way through the aisles in my usual pattern, hunting fashionable finds. On the very last row after no sucess, I spotted these bright yellow heels. “Oh no, are those adorable,” I thought, knowing I wasn’t going to escape without them. After trying them on I just loved them and knew they would be mine. The sat patiently in the closet through the 40 days fast and I’ve saved them until now. And quietly they go back into the closet until the end of Pair Diem….unless you say otherwise, that is.

Compliment Meter: 4. Very high response today, no surprise from me. The color definitely attracts attention. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: This is the one area they fall short. The vertiginous heel is taxing on the feet and they haven’t been broken in enough in the front. They only lasted until noon. Overall, a 6.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Worn and weathered Seven jeans, grey v-neck T, yellow and white graphic floral cardi (a J. Crew knockoff) from Target. I heart grey and yellow.

Thoughts: “It’s a woman who carries her clothes but it’s a shoe which carries the woman.” ~ Christian Louboutin

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Day 60: Lemon Fresh

  • Rebs says:

    I love love LOVE these. They make my very happy.

    • Anonymous says:

      I know, I love them too! I’m so surprised at the 5 votes against them! I want an explanation! 🙂

  • Jenn says:

    vertiginous? really? Cute but something about the heel shape is odd to me. And half a day?! They ain’t THAT cute.

    • pairdiem says:

      yes, vertiginous! they might be the highest pair I own. And for being the second time wearing them, I think 1/2 a day is perfectly acceptable…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 60: Lemon Fresh at PAIR DIEM.

meta

