Day 59: Pep-toes

May 21, 2009 § Leave a comment

 

This is what happens when you don't have a shoe photog: random desk shot.

This is what happens when you don't have a shoe photog: random desk shot.

Fact: It’s difficult to be in a bad mood when wearing pink shoes. Really, I promise. Make them pink suede heels (and a cup of coffee from Dunkin Donuts) and you’ve got yourself a shield from all yucky stress the world can throw at you. An overstatement, possibly? I do know the made my day brighter, and today that was no small feat. These soothing pink suede heels, by Anne Klein, have a comfortable rounded toe and stacked wood heel. My complaint with this pair is the alreay-addressed issue of toe cleavage. The vamp on these shoes comes up a bit too high, I think. If it had been cut just sligthly more square, this would have solved the problem as well, but as they are the cut might date them a bit. It’s hard to argue with pink suede but I only want to keep them if they are classic and fabulous enough. Can you stomach them or are they difficult to swallow?

 

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: I remember finding these at  DSW. Are they public? I think I should buy stock. Anyways, I found them in the clearance racks one day. I guarantee I was not in the market for pink suede shoes at the time, yet there they were…the lone pair of smooth bubblegum pink heels calling out to me. Not having any pink heels at the time, I realized they were destined to be mine. And at 75% off, it would be a crime NOT to buy them, right?

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive responses, like, ‘ooh, pink suede heels.’ I’ll take it. Shoe confidence level: Medium-High.

Comfort: The rounded toe and interior cushion makes them quite comfortable, for heels. My feet ache a bit, but I think it’s the heel hangover I’ve acquired this week.  Overall, a 7.5 out of 10.

Worn with: White polo from J. Crew, skinny jeans, turned up to be cropped. Sometimes a navy cardy for the chilly office. Ridiculously prep.

Thoughts: “…I am getting tired of these heavy shoes. I’m ready for nice, refined shoes. I’m wanting that Halston simplicity. But that’s just a feeling.” ~Stylist Patricia Field

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 59: Pep-toes at PAIR DIEM.

meta

