Day 58: Blazing Saddles

May 20, 2009 § Leave a comment

Saddle sandals in the outback. Sometimes you just need to spice up the background.

 

Saddle sandals in the outback. Sometimes you just need to spice up the background.

 

Sometimes the desire for a pair of shoes comes from a magazine or runway. Sometimes it comes from seeing them parade down the street on someone else’s feet.  I got the urge for a new pair of neutral sandals after seeing some on a fashionable coworker’s feet. I knew I wanted that certain shade of brown, one I could see clearly in my head: not khaki, not chocolate, nothing orange-y but warmer than tan. Some call it saddle, some call it cognac. Either way, this pair of sandals, yes another pair of slingbacks, were just the color I imagined. I loved the stitching and the lived-in leather look; they reminded me a bit of Frye, a brand I adore. However, I wasn’t and still am not, completely sold on the black/brown, well, sole. Maybe a different color or texture would have worked better. I’ve liked them with jeans and casual dresses. Do they get to ride off into the sunset, or put out of their misery?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: This shoe purchasing memory is foggy at best. I’m certain I found these at a random discount shoe retailer, and it might have been Rack Room Shoes. I do remember the attraction of the color, primarily, and at the time questioning the choice of the black/brown heel and sole. In the end color (and cost) justified the purchase and I brought them home where they enjoyed much out and about that Summer.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive responses, just not many of them. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Slingbacks are a favorite for comfort in my book. The front platform helps as well, however they start to rub my toes by mid-afternoon. I don’t recall this problem from last Summer. Too bad. Overall, a 6.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Marigold blouse, wide distressed leather belt at the waist (both from Forever 21), wide leg jeans.

Thoughts: The worst part about getting bags under your eyes is finding the shoes to match.” ~Adrienne Gusoff

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 58: Blazing Saddles at PAIR DIEM.

meta

