Day 57: Wantonly Woven

May 19, 2009 § 1 Comment

Woven-heeled Wedges

Woven-heeled Wedges

Finally I’m getting some good use of my pedicures and wearing my Spring and Summer shoes. These strappy black slingbacks with woven-heels, from Ann Taylor Loft, are a solid basic black Summer shoe without being terribly exciting. An easy choice for Summer skirts and shorts for the past 2 seasons, I’m not all that excited about them for this year. I’ve been a fan of wedges for a few seasons and I do like the woven texture on the heel.  There’s nothing  particularly wrong with them and they are very comfortable, but as I’ve gone through more and more shoes in my closet I’m starting to desire to only own shoes I’m mad about. A tall order, maybe. Or maybe not…it’s all about editing and hunting for just the right pair. In the meantime, do I keep these around as a season staple or find something a little more exciting?

 

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: I don’t recall much about the purchase of these sandals. I was at the mall and seeing as how I was in Ann Taylor Loft, it is likely that I was with my shopping coworker in crime, Lori. (I think they should give her stock options for her faithfulness) I liked the natural fabric-wrapped wedge and the cut of the black straps. I got them for a steal and they quickly became partners with my long shorts, all the range that Summer.

Compliment Meter: 1. Not much attention, fairly silent in the comment department. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Wedges are notoriously easy to walk in and these are no exception. The slingback helps, also. Overall, an 8.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Ballet-neck, scoop-back 3/4 sleeve black T from Club Monaco, wide woven belt from Banana and pleated poofy skirt in cream with black and salmon stripes, from Forever 21.

Thoughts: “I collect shoes because I just can’t help myself.” ~Designer Catherine Holstein

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Day 57: Wantonly Woven

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 57: Wantonly Woven at PAIR DIEM.

meta

