Day 54: Neon Tiger

May 14, 2009 § 2 Comments

Yellowsuedeheels

I am pondering the differences in shoes we purchase. Some shoes are ‘a big hug for my feet’ shoes, some are ‘look how hot-stuff I am’ shoes, some are ‘I dare you to mess with me’ shoes, some are ‘these just make me happy’ shoes and some are ‘just try and think I’m not cute in these’ shoes. There are more types, clearly, and it’s difficult to pin down a category for today. I’m going with ‘yes I’m brave enough to wear these and you’re kinda jealous’ shoes. They are a super bright yellow/chartreuse suede slingback with a faceted enamel cone heel, by Nine West. The color is killer and definitely grab some attention. The rounded toe gives a little sweetness to the otherwise trendy fierceness and the slingback and enamel breaks up all the suede. Do you like the bright suede as much as I do, or are these killers?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: These are an occasion pair. I was attending yet another Pure Fashion Show as one of the committee heads. As previously mentioned when attending any version of a fashion event, the pressure is on when choosing an outfit. I found a great dress at Anthro, a black fan-print kimono-ish dress with a bright emerald green sash at the waist. Black heels would have been safe, and totally appropriate, but this not being a corporate or church event, safe was not what I was in the market for. So off to the mall I went in search of some interesting shoes. I found these and was hesitant about the color at first. However, I took them home and when I tried them on, realized they were a perfect compliment to the bright green in the dress. Bonus, they were on sale for 50 off. Naturally.

Compliment Meter: 5. Quite the popular shoes today; a variety of compliments from several people. Shoe confidence level: Very high. Comment of the day, from Lisa (when confronted with a work issue she needed to address and wanted to avoid) “Let’s just focus on Sara’s shoes instead.”

Comfort: I have permanent gel inserts in these shoes which most definitely helps. However, because of the height and overall lack of padding at the front, I needed to change shoes by 2pm but stuck it out until the end of the day. I just found excuses to sit at my desk. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: The aforementioned black fan-print kimono dress from Anthropologie. Simple earrings, no other accessories needed.

Thoughts: “Accessories should be fortifying.” ~David Yurman

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 54: Neon Tiger

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 54: Neon Tiger at PAIR DIEM.

meta

