Day 53: Remains of the Grey

May 13, 2009 § 1 Comment

Grey from head to toes today  

 

 

Grey from head to toes today

 

The skies have escaped from the gloomy grey that has been looming for days, but I can’t seem to get away from my love of the overcast color. These, surprisingly from Old Navy, may be pair 5 of the grey shoe collection and they transition nicely into spring with a high heel, suede and studs. I like that the thick straps aren’t overbearing but are still substantial and I still feel feminine in them. They work well with skirts and I can envision enjoying them with shorts and tanks this summer. Do they survive for another summer or are they a dark cloud hanging over my wardrobe?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: These were a combo purchase with Day 37’s shoes and you can see the similarities. I found them both at Old Navy for ridiculous clearance prices and I was immediately attracted to these. I like the hint of a t-strap shape and the subtle stud detailing. I preferred them to the other pair but since both were so inexpensive, they both were adopted into the rotation.

Compliment Meter: 2. Nothing really of note to report. If I notice someone  noticing my shoes and not commenting….generally not the most positive sign.  Shoe confidence level: Medium-High.

Comfort: I unfortunately forgot my trusty gel inserts today and the balls of my feet are feeling it by lunchtime. Also, the t-strap with the studs on it rub against the top of my foot and by days end I was very unhappy. Overall, a 6 out of 10, with the gels I’d probably up that to a 7.

Worn with: Grey, cream and pink ombré blouse, grey pencil skirt and grey cardi when it’s chilly in the office. It truly is a grey day.

Thoughts: “When the world went to my closet to look for skeletons, they found shoes.” ~Imelda Marcos

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Day 53: Remains of the Grey

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 53: Remains of the Grey at PAIR DIEM.

meta

