Day 52: Heavyweight Heels

May 12, 2009 § 1 Comment

BlackStrappyChunkHeel

As the rains continue in Dallas, I am forced to avoid any and all suede shoes in the closet. Today I circumvent the issue by choosing these sandals by  Modern Vintage. I generally love the shoes from this brand; they teeter between quirky and extremely original and almost clumsily odd. I like the placement of the straps and the crinkled black leather texture bordered by twill ribbon trim. Chunky heels, as you’ve noticed, are common in my wardrobe, but these take chunk to a new level. The heel is quite wide, necessitating the wider front straps for both style and function. I think they might pair better with shorts or a floaty dress for the summer, to  contrast the weightiness of the shoe. Since shorts are not on the office appropriate list and the floaty Spring dresses are just now being unearthed from storage, wide legs had to suffice. Do the proportions balance out in a pleasing way, or are they just weighing me down?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2009

Circumstances: During a more recent of a shopping trip, I found these at DSW this past January. They were the last pair of their kind, in the clearance section, and were 85% off. Ridiculous! It was just before my shopping hiatus (40 days of no shopping, part of my Lent) so I was slightly in binge mode. In any case, I liked the weightiness of the shoe and having nothing similar in the closest, I brought them home. And they waited until now to be worn.

Compliment Meter: 1. Another lackluster day. I have realized that Mondays are notoriously slow for comments and compliments on the shoes, just an interesting fact. Shoe confidence level: Medium-High.

Comfort: Very good considering it is only the second time I’ve worn them. The outside strap rubs a bit after around 6 hours. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Black short-sleeved blouson top from Urban, wide leg jeans. That’s what you get when you wake up 10 minutes before you’re scheduled to leave the house. Basic black.

Thoughts: “Spend on shoes, bags and tailored coats, then bargain hunt for everything else.”~ Smashbox makeup artist Neisha Henry

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ One Response to Day 52: Heavyweight Heels

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 52: Heavyweight Heels at PAIR DIEM.

meta

