Day 50: High Heeled, High Life

May 8, 2009 § 4 Comments

Peep toes in croco. Don't you love the background tile?

Peep toes in croco. Don't you love the background tile?

Here are another pair of black heels, my killer embossed crocs with the peep toe from Nine West. They help  give a touch of oomph to any LBD, or really any little ol’ thing. They have nice covered platform that makes the stiletto more walkable.  I generally don’t wear these to work because of the height and the toll it takes on my feet after several hours, as they did today. I wore them for a work event, with the aforementioned LBD and by nights end I was feeling the pain, but I love the shape and the cut. Two of my most stylish friends own the exact pair, in different colorways and textures: green suede, patent, calfskin…and one, Kelly, owns them in 2 or 3 different colors. Can’t say I blame her, I wouldn’t mind having them in another shade or two. Are they a good dose of flair for my closet, already full of black heels, or are they just more of the same?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2008

Circumstances: I was shopping in Northpark for a reason I cannot recall. Who needs a reason, right? I had tried on this same pair of shoes a few months earlier, in yellow suede and in green suede. At the time I just wasn’t sure about the bright colors, so I held off. On this trip, I found them in black croco and loved them so, I delayed no longer and brought them home. Now I’m wishing I had bought a pair of the brights as well.

Compliment Meter: 2. Pleasant comments on the shoes, but my necklace garnered the most attention with somewhere near 12 compliments at the party.  Shoe confidence level: High. Outfit confidence: Extra High. Quote of the day from Tracy, “Shoes: a reason to breathe.”

Comfort: Fairly comfortable until hour 3 after standing on very hard floors and the impromptu dance party to Justice in the living room…and the fact that the left shoe does slip a bit. Overall, a 6.5 out of 10.

Worn with: We had a party for the launch of our Fall campaign that I just finished shooting on location, so I got to don them with my LBD by DVF, and this rockin’ necklace from Anthropologie (which garnered quite the attention).

Thoughts: A 4-inch heel now seems like a little granny heel. Women are just demanding height. We are only doing it because people are buying it.” ~Shoe designer Brian Atwood

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 4 Responses to Day 50: High Heeled, High Life

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 50: High Heeled, High Life at PAIR DIEM.

meta

