Day 49: Au Naturale

May 7, 2009 § 2 Comments

 

Comfortable natural-colored shoes on location

Comfortable natural-colored shoes on location

As you now know by my special edition, I am working on a photoshoot this week. This presented me with the challenge of not only doing on-location shots of my shoes (isn’t that rug great?), but finding pairs that I have not yet worn that I can stand in all day long. I pulled these from the depths of my closet and they did the trick. They are natural-colored wedges in all-over suede. A bit chunky of a shape and I rarely wear them. I think they work ok with jeans, not as much with the bare leg. As you can see, my jeans have rubbed off a bit on the front straps, as happens with suede. They kept my feet happy all day, but are they cute enough to keep? Are they a little orthopedic looking? Do I keep them around for such occasions or toss them from the balcony?

prov⋅e⋅nance

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2007

Circumstances: I definitely remember shopping in Ross, and I’m fairly sure I was with my work shopping partner in crime, Lori. As Lori headed to apparel and homewares, I remember wading through the obstacle course of shoes laying in the aisles while dodging several small, and unruly, children. Not only is finding a cute, suitable pair of shoes a challenge, but in the right size on the correct shelf, is downright daunting. I found these and a few other pairs to try on. I gravitated towards the suede and their insanely comfortable sole, but even then was unsure of the shape. Was the wedge too flat? A little old-lady ish? Either way, they were a good color, price and I’m a sucker for suede so home they came. 

Compliment Meter:2. Surprisingly, the photo assistant and stylist at the shoot both liked them. With jeans only, though. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Super comfortable. A little clunky to walk in, but no complaints whatsoever. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: My wide leg Seven Dojo jeans, ruffle-front 3/4 sleeve merlot colored knit top from Anthro. As comfortable as a snuggie, well I’d assume…just darn comfortable.

Thoughts: When you have worn out your shoes, the strength of the shoe leather has passed into the fiber of your body. I measure your health by the number of shoes and hats and clothes you have worn out.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 49: Au Naturale

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 49: Au Naturale at PAIR DIEM.

meta

