Day 48: Barely-There Black

May 5, 2009 § 1 Comment

Delicate criss-cross straps

Delicate criss-cross straps

Another day, another black sandal…this time with barely-there straps on a slim black wedge heel. I performed major surgery on my closet during my recent move and extracted several pairs of shoes and these were perilously close to being tossed. I decided to keep them for just a bit longer and see if their simplistic strappy sandal look might be necessary for one more summer. The brand is Charles David and they became one of my favorite pairs when I bought them a few years ago. There’s something intriguing about the thin straps that I like, but it is enough to keep them? Is it nostalgia alone that saved them from the purge, or do they still have some fashion merit left?

prov-e-nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns]–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Circumstances: A purchasing story I don’t have a strong memory of, but I do recall I found them at DSW. Of course that’s not much of a stretch due to my shopping frequency there. In any case, I purchased them and at the time love the barely-there thin straps and the slim wedge heel. I wore them regularly and sufficiently wore the heel into disrepair.

Compliment Meter: 1.Not much to report for compliments save one generally pleasant comment. Shoe confidence level: Medium-Low.

Comfort: Generally comfortable. The thin straps don’t provide much security or support for the wedge heel, causing them to slip a bit.  Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Trusty Hudson bootcuts, wide v-neck sweater from Club Monaco with black piping. 

Thoughts: “I do like killer heels, but part of the challenge as a shoe designer is finding something that looks great but is also at least reasonably practical.” ~Shoe designer Sophie Gittins

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Day 48: Barely-There Black

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 48: Barely-There Black at PAIR DIEM.

meta

