Day 46: Modern Architecture

May 1, 2009 § 1 Comment

Architecturally heeled peeps

Architecturally heeled peeps

Every now and then I come across a pair of shoes initially rather classic and safe when sitting on the shelf in the store. Then picked up, inspected and tried on I realize they are not only quite interesting but considerably flattering and give that, ‘I might just prance around the store for a while in these’ feeling. These shoes, by Michael Kors, are such a pair. They are black suede peep toes, have a double-row of contrast stitching, and an angular architectural heel (my fav feature, I’ve been enjoying this trend for several months now). They look as good with pants as they do with skirts and dresses and something about the cut makes me feel a little girlier, always a plus. Do you enjoy them like I do? Or is there spot in my closet about to be demolished?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2008

Circumstances: These were  a definite DSW purchase, a memorable shopping day I think back on fondly. The same day I found Day 22’s Grey Garden pair and another yet to be named, I found these. It’s fairly rare I’ll buy three pairs of shoes at once at DSW….ok maybe not completely rare…but I simply could not pass these up, and I’m glad I didn’t. I was shopping AB that day and she and I agreed wholeheartedly they must be bought. Rationalizing? No, just a fact. I had a hard time removing the from my feet long enough to purchase them. Pair number 2 of that triumphant day…

Compliment Meter: 4. Several positive comments today, even a ‘fabulous.’ Having a new outfit on didn’t hurt, either.  Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Very easy to walk in. The front of the peep toe rubs a bit by the end of the day, but most of the time I don’t notice the fit, a good trait in footwear. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Back to navyworld in a monochromatic turn in this dress from JCrew, worn with a long sleeved navy T from Club Monaco with buttoned sleeves. I love navy and black.

Thoughts: Yeah, and compliment her shoes. Girls like that.” ~Lucy, giving dating advice to her dad (The American President)

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?


Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Day 46: Modern Architecture

  • Susan says:

    I love these shoes. Very pretty!!! You are making it very clear that I should be shopping at DSW much more often.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 46: Modern Architecture at PAIR DIEM.

meta

