Day 45: Bronzed Beauties

April 30, 2009 § Leave a comment

Metallic strappy sandals

Metallic strappy sandals

Spring’s in full swing and sandal weather is here (despite the torrential rains happening daily this April). A departure from the dainty shoes of yesterday (literally, yesterday’s pair),  these are slightly gladiator inspired and quite serious with bronze metallic buckled straps atop a wood heel complete with metallic rivets. Oh and the strip of  leather lining the perimeter of the shoe? The designer decided it need a very subtle pinking-shear zig zag edge…just in case you can’t see that part… Regardless, bronze is a great neutral metallic which is part of their charm. The wood heel makes me very tall which is nice, but they are challenging to walk in for some reason, possibly because of the curved front. I nearly bit it today walking down the already treacherous wood stairs of the office. Another issue with the shape of the curved wood sole: sort of makes me feel like I’m wearing  Candies or Bongo’s…or channeling a little ‘That 70’s Show’ perhaps? They have a lot going on style-wise…which might not be bad. Do they add some spice to my life or are they just tasteless?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2007

 

Circumstances: If I’m not mistaken, these are a DSW purchase. The brand is Franco Sarto, a brand that is often comfortable, but one I find hit or miss as far as style goes. I remember coming upon these in the clearance section at the back of the store, where I generally start my DSW romp. I liked the bronze color and straps instantly, it being the beginning of the thicker-strapped sandal trend. I decided they were worth a purchase and brought them home to see if they would help fix my summer sandal need.

Compliment Meter: 2. Nothing really of note to report. If I notice someone  noticing my shoes and not commenting….generally not the most positive sign. Comment of the day, from Bethany: ‘If Zena warrior princess wore sandals, she would wear those.’ Superb.  Shoe confidence level: Medium, but then I almost went head first into the bottom of the staircase…consequently, shoe confidence reduced to Low….and cautious.

Comfort: They have nice padding in the footbed and the straps keep them securely on my feet, however, they are apparently dangerous on stairs and make very loud clomping noise on word floors. Overall, a 6 out of 10.

Worn with: I depart from navy today: aubergine knit pleated v-neck top, new flair jeans from Paige, piles of gold and cream bangles. 

Thoughts: Oh, Miss Karen, you love those shoes like your own husband.” ~Rosario (Will & Grace)

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 45: Bronzed Beauties at PAIR DIEM.

meta

