Day 44: Sweet and Bow-ed

April 29, 2009 § 2 Comments

Curve-heeled and bow-toed

Curve-heeled and bow-toed

A pair, and dare I say the last pair, of black pumps…I think. And I mean true classic pumps, no peep-toe or slingback, just a good old-fashioned workhorse pump. A contender for the girliest pair in the closet I believe, these are pointy toed, curved heeled and don a dainty grosgrain bow across the top. Bought for an event (see below) they were for a few years, my ‘given’ shoes….as in, the obvious pair of choice with every LBD or black pant. I had the toes repaired a few times due to wear and tear and my uncanny ability to scrape the front of any very-pointy shoes I own. More black heels have been added since the entry of these into my closet. Have they been outdone? Out-shined? Out-fabuloused? Maybe it’s time for them to be outed…

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2005

 

Circumstances: Another pair of ‘occasion shoes’…I purchased these when I reluctantly became the keynote speaker for the local Pure Fashion charity fashion show. Public speaking is right up there with shaving my head or being covered in tarantulas. Attending any sort of fashion event is stressful enough, but speaking at one, even just for a few moments, is downright distressing. I found an adorable pale blue and delicate black pinstripe suit at BCBG (really it was cute, I realize that description sounds fairly suspect) and found these, also BCBG, to go with it. Add a great chunky necklace from a friend and I had enough confidence to make it through the speech. Added bonus: I didn’t trip on the stage.

Compliment Meter:2. Not much attention today, I think they might be a bit dated…or maybe just unextraordinary. Comment of the day: ‘You’re channeling Mary Tyler Moore today…in a good way. She was fabulous.’  Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Nicely broken in, they balls of my feet are feeling it after about 6 hours of wear.  Overall, a 7.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Silk ruffle blouse from J.Crew under a black v-neck sweater, navy slim cropped trousers. I heart black and navy. Make this day 6 of wearing an article of navy clothing!

Thoughts: “It’s all about the shoes, and the dress comes later. Of course if you have a beautiful body, they’ll look, but people tend to look at faces and shoes.” ~Manolo Blahnik

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 44: Sweet and Bow-ed

  • Todd says:

    Hate ’em! Attempted to vote twice for these, but you seem to have updated the poll to disallow multiple voting. Since this one is at a tie, I’m hoping this “hate ’em” comment will push these to the garbage!

    • pairdiem says:

      I love that you get so emotionally charged about my shoe wardrobe. Your comments are ALWAYS entertaining!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 44: Sweet and Bow-ed at PAIR DIEM.

meta

