Day 43: Grey Ghost

April 28, 2009 § Leave a comment

greyheels

Hooray for grey, in snakeskin sandals

I’m already mourning the loss of these lovely shoes from my wardrobe until the culmination of the challenge. You can tell how much I love these shoes by my ‘oh so editorial’ photo for today’s entry. It’s true, my photog and I were feeling rather inspired or just loopy and tired when we spotted the odd rolling unit with the seatbelt strap-like grid. It resembles something found at the baggage terminal of the airport and we have no idea what it’s for…other than an awesome shoe shot…but I digress. Yes another pair of grey shoes so inspiring, at my lunchtime pedicure I chose grey polish. I enjoy the color, snakeskin texture and shape. The covered buckle is a pleasant detail. I purchased them last summer and having worn them with absolutely everything I had to have a heel cap replaced by October. That’s some kind of record. Being so relied upon, they’ll be sorely missed. Will I get them back, or will they be ejected for good?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2008

Circumstances: I was shopping at Northpark one weekend with a few girlfriends. I was looking for new boots for the upcoming Fall and had seen a pair online that intrigued me. Flat, distressed, knee-high riding boots by Steven by Steve Madden. Wanting to see them in person, I ambled into the Steve Madden store. I found the boots which were attractive, but highly unflattering…like coral lipstick. Disappointment turned to happiness when I spotted these grey heels, also  Steven by Steve Madden, that just happened to be on sale.

Compliment Meter:4. Strong response. Overall likeability from most observers was high. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: I tried these both with and without the gel inserts. Not uncomfortable without them, but definite winners with them. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: My trusty Hudson bootcuts, grey tank and navy cape cardi from Anthropologie. Maybe my challenge should have been ‘how many days can I wear navy without running out of clothing…’ (five straight days this week)

Thoughts: “I think an 8-inch heel would be a great shoe for someone who spends a lot of time posing and sitting.” ~Ken Downing, fashion director for Neiman Marcus

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 43: Grey Ghost at PAIR DIEM.

meta

